Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Ormond Beach

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Ormond Beach FL city hall02Photo: Ebyabe · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Ormond Beach · Not graded

Crime reported in Ormond Beach, FL

Ormond Beach has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
79
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
814
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
12 mi
Flagler Beach (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 19 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (18.6)Violent crime (1.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Ormond Beach1.8
Rest of FL4.5
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Ormond Beach18.6
Rest of FL22.2
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Ormond Beach’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearOrmond BeachRest of FloridaOrmond BeachRest of Florida
202218.622.21.84.5
2023not reported19.2not reported3.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
2025not reported14.3not reported3.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

893 crimes reported in 2022

79 violent and 814 property, as reported to the FBI by Ormond Beach’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft605
Burglary138
Vehicle theft71
Aggravated assault59
Robbery9
Rape11
Homicide0
Arson0
79
violent crimes
814
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Flagler BeachB12 mi2.17.5
Lake HelenA−23 mi1.63.3
Crescent CityB26 mi0.411.7
SanfordD37 mi5.623.2
Lake MaryB39 mi1.28.8
PalatkaD42 mi4.332.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Ormond Beach. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Ormond Beach.

On the roads

44 people died in crashes on Ormond Beach’s roads in 2019–2023

Ormond Beach had 44 fatal crashes in five years, in which 44 people died; 11 were pedestrians and 2 were cyclists. 4 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is 20.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for Florida towns of 25,000–100,000 people (9.7, 147 towns).

44
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
11
pedestrians among them
2
cyclists among them
20.0
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 25,000–100,000: 9.7

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Ormond Beach and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Ormond-by-the-Sea: not gradedDaytona Beach: not gradedHolly Hill: not gradedOrmond-by-the-SeaDaytona BeachHolly HillOrmond Beach
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Ormond-by-the-Sea———
Daytona Beach———
Holly Hill———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Ormond-by-the-Sea is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own. Daytona Beach and Holly Hill have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Ormond Beach. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Ormond Beach’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (43,860 in 2022); our figure for Ormond Beach is 44,692 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Ormond Beach

Is Ormond Beach, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Ormond Beach. Ormond Beach has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Flagler Beach (B, 12 mi), Lake Helen (A−, 23 mi), Crescent City (B, 26 mi).

Who polices Ormond Beach?

Ormond Beach’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Ormond Beach”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Ormond Beach.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Ormond Beach feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.