Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Orlando

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Orlando, Florida (cropped)Photo: Quintin Soloviev · CC BY 4.0
Safety in Orlando · Not graded

Crime reported in Orlando, FL

Orlando has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
2,597
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
12,517
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
3 mi
Edgewood (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 40 property crimes reported

And about 8 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (40.3)Violent crime (8.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Orlando8.4
Rest of FL4.1
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Orlando40.3
Rest of FL20.6
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Orlando’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearOrlandoRest of FloridaOrlandoRest of Florida
202240.320.68.44.1
2023not reported19.2not reported3.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
2025not reported14.3not reported3.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

15,114 crimes reported in 2022

2,597 violent and 12,517 property, as reported to the FBI by Orlando’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft9,861
Burglary1,398
Vehicle theft1,258
Aggravated assault1,913
Robbery426
Rape226
Homicide32
Arson22
2,597
violent crimes
12,517
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
EdgewoodB−3 mi1.611.0
Winter ParkC9 mi2.218.1
MaitlandC+11 mi1.913.8
CasselberryC−13 mi2.622.1
KissimmeeC−13 mi4.418.2
Altamonte SpringsC−14 mi3.221.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Orlando. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Orlando.

On the roads

210 people died in crashes on Orlando’s roads in 2019–2023

Orlando had 200 fatal crashes in five years, in which 210 people died; 77 were pedestrians and 12 were cyclists. 19 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is 13.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, about the same as the median for Florida towns of 100,000+ people (13.1, 27 towns).

210
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
77
pedestrians among them
12
cyclists among them
13.1
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 100,000+: 13.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Orlando and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Fairview Shores———
Holden Lakes———
Azalea Park———
Pine Hills———
Winter ParkC2.218.1
Taft———
Conway———
Oak Ridge———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Fairview Shores, Holden Lakes, Azalea Park, Pine Hills, Taft, Conway and Oak Ridge are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Orlando. A citywide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of the city to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Orlando’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (310,713 in 2022); our figure for Orlando is 333,888 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Orlando

Is Orlando, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Orlando. Orlando has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Edgewood (B−, 3 mi), Winter Park (C, 9 mi), Maitland (C+, 11 mi).

Who polices Orlando?

Orlando’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Orlando”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Orlando.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Orlando feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.