Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Fruitland Park

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
FL Fruitland Park city hall02Photo: Ebyabe · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Fruitland Park · Not graded

Policing and crime in Fruitland Park, FL

The closest graded town is Leesburg, 9 miles away, at C−. Fruitland Park’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. A 25-mile circle around it holds 2 towns with a grade.

Violent crimes
19
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
88
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
9 mi
Leesburg (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 10 property crimes reported

Property crime (9.9)Violent crime (2.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Fruitland Park2.1
Rest of FL3.6
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Fruitland Park9.9
Rest of FL19.3
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Fruitland Park’s police reported

Show as a table
YearFruitland ParkRest of FloridaFruitland ParkRest of Florida
2022not reported22.1not reported4.4
20239.919.32.13.6
2024not reported18.4not reported3.5
2025not reported14.3not reported3.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

107 crimes reported in 2023

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft63
Burglary20
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault18
Robbery1
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
19
violent crimes
88
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

19 violent and 88 property, as reported to the FBI by Fruitland Park’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LeesburgC−9 mi3.419.2
BelleviewC−16 mi3.319.4
OcalaD26 mi4.728.2
ApopkaC−27 mi4.222.1
Altamonte SpringsC−35 mi3.221.1
BrooksvilleD37 mi5.223.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Fruitland Park. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Fruitland Park.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Six people died in crashes on Fruitland Park’s roads in 2019–2023

Fruitland Park had 6 fatal crashes in five years, in which six people died; 3 were pedestrians.

That is about what is typical for Florida towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Fruitland Park’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Fruitland Park’s own rate (13.7) is context, not a ranking.

6
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
3
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
13.7
per 100,000 a year · Florida towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Fruitland Park and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
LeesburgC−3.419.2
Lady Lake———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Lady Lake has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Fruitland Park. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Fruitland Park’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (8,877 in 2023); our figure for Fruitland Park is 9,543 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Fruitland Park

Is Fruitland Park, FL safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Fruitland Park. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Leesburg (C−, 9 mi), Belleview (C−, 16 mi), Ocala (D, 26 mi).

Who polices Fruitland Park?

Fruitland Park’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Fruitland Park”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Fruitland Park feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Fruitland Park.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.