Photo: JonathanPuello · CC BY-SA 4.0Crime and safety in Fort Pierce, FL
Widen the search to 25 miles and 2 graded towns turn up. Fort Pierce’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The closest graded town is Vero Beach, 16 miles away, at A.
For every 1,000 residents, about 16 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 4 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Fort Pierce’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Fort Pierce | Rest of Florida | Fort Pierce | Rest of Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 18.6 | 22.2 | 5.4 | 4.4 |
| 2023 | 19.3 | 19.2 | 5.4 | 3.6 |
| 2024 | not reported | 18.4 | not reported | 3.5 |
| 2025 | 15.8 | 14.3 | 4.3 | 3.0 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
1,036 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
220 violent and 816 property, as reported to the FBI by Fort Pierce’s police.
The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade
Straight-line distance from the center of Fort Pierce. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Fort Pierce.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
45 people died in crashes on Fort Pierce’s roads in 2019–2023
Fort Pierce had 45 fatal crashes in five years, in which 45 people died; 11 were pedestrians and 2 were cyclists. 2 died in crashes on an Interstate.
That is 18.3 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for Florida towns of 25,000–100,000 people (9.7, 147 towns).
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Fort Pierce and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Pierce North | — | — | — |
| Fort Pierce South | — | — | — |
| White City | — | — | — |
| Indian River Estates | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Fort Pierce North, Fort Pierce South, White City and Indian River Estates are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Fort Pierce. A citywide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of the city to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Fort Pierce’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (51,623 in 2025); our figure for Fort Pierce is 51,737 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Fort Pierce
Is Fort Pierce, FL safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Fort Pierce. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Vero Beach (A, 16 mi), Stuart (C−, 17 mi), Sebastian (B−, 26 mi).
Who polices Fort Pierce?
Fort Pierce’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Fort Pierce”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Fort Pierce.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.