Photo: Jeffrey Beall · CC BY 4.0Recorded crime in Snowmass Village, without a grade
Within 10 miles, Aspen is the one town with a Safety Grade. Snowmass Village’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Out to 25 miles, the count of graded towns reaches 4.
For every 1,000 residents, about 13 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Snowmass Village’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Snowmass Village | Rest of Colorado | Snowmass Village | Rest of Colorado |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 39.2 | not reported | 6.2 |
| 2023 | not reported | 35.4 | not reported | 5.9 |
| 2024 | 12.4 | 31.7 | 0.0 | 5.8 |
| 2025 | 12.7 | 26.1 | 1.0 | 5.0 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Colorado. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
40 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
3 violent and 37 property, as reported to the FBI by Snowmass Village’s police.
The nearest Colorado towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aspen | C− | 6 mi | 1.3 | 28.3 |
| Basalt | B− | 12 mi | 2.0 | 10.5 |
| Carbondale | B+ | 19 mi | 1.2 | 6.0 |
| Crested Butte | B+ | 24 mi | 1.6 | 3.8 |
| Gypsum | A | 28 mi | 0.5 | 2.9 |
| Eagle | A− | 30 mi | 1.0 | 6.3 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Snowmass Village. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Snowmass Village.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
No one died in a crash on Snowmass Village’s roads in 2019–2023
That is about what is typical for Colorado towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Snowmass Village’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Snowmass Village’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Snowmass Village and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Snowmass Village. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Snowmass Village’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,902 in 2025); our figure for Snowmass Village is 2,965 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Snowmass Village
Is Snowmass Village, CO safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Snowmass Village. The nearest Colorado towns with a grade are Aspen (C−, 6 mi), Basalt (B−, 12 mi), Carbondale (B+, 19 mi).
Who polices Snowmass Village?
Snowmass Village’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Snowmass Village”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Snowmass Village.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.