Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Rocky Ford

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Rocky Ford, CO, City Hall IMG 5665Photo: Billy Hathorn · CC BY-SA 3.0
Rocky Ford Public Library

Rocky Ford Public Library serves Rocky Ford’s 3,819 residents

Rocky Ford Public Library serves Rocky Ford’s 3,819 residents.

400 South 10th Street, Rocky Ford 81067
B−Civic lifeAhead of 50% of U.S. towns · #54 of 104 in Colorado. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024

What stands out about Rocky Ford’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Rocky Ford’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Rocky Ford is ahead of 50% of U.S. towns, #54 of 104 in Colorado. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Rocky Ford is graded on two of the three inputs. Rocky Ford’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Rocky Ford’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 50%
FewerMore
Colorado towns we grade (104)Ahead of 49%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $30K–$51K (2,145)Ahead of 58%

The survey’s stand-in for Rocky Ford’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2021 figure, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Rocky Ford is small (3,752 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

30 community nonprofits are registered in Rocky Ford

7.9 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture41.05 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation20.52 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans92.36 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services51.31 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education30.79 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.26 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.26 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other51.31 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (14 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 1 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

4.6%

4.6% of Rocky Ford’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.8% in the typical Colorado town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Rocky Ford’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · The building

A National Register landmark since 1995

Rocky Ford Public Library, 400 South 10th Street, Rocky Ford.

4,600
square feet
With a card

No late fees.

New in Rocky Ford? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Carnegie Public Library
The building’s story

Carnegie Public Library

Carnegie Public Library was added to the National Register of Historic Places on Nov 7, 1995. It is significant for its social history and architecture at the local level. Its architecture is described as Classical Revival.

The Carnegie Public Library in Rocky Ford, Colorado is a Carnegie library built in 1908. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1995. It was designed by La Junta, Colorado architect Walter Dubree in Classical Revival style. It was the first building in Rocky Ford of that style.

More about the building →
A year at the library

A year at Rocky Ford Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Rocky Ford resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 3,819 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Rocky Ford Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2021 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Rocky Ford

Does Rocky Ford have a public library?

Yes. Rocky Ford Public Library, 400 South 10th Street, serves Rocky Ford’s 3,819 residents (the survey’s count).

Is Rocky Ford Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Rocky Ford’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Rocky Ford’s civic life grade?

B− Rocky Ford is ahead of 50% of U.S. towns on civic life, #54 of 104 in Colorado. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Rocky Ford.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. Building history: National Park Service, National Register of Historic Places; photo via Wikimedia Commons. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.