Photo: Toglenn · CC BY-SA 4.0Crime in Twentynine Palms: the figures, without a grade
Twentynine Palms’ police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Desert Hot Springs, 30 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (C).
For every 1,000 residents, about 8 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 4 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Twentynine Palms’ police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Twentynine Palms | Rest of California | Twentynine Palms | Rest of California |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 7.3 | 24.8 | 5.5 | 5.1 |
| 2023 | not reported | 25.0 | not reported | 5.4 |
| 2024 | 7.8 | 20.8 | 4.2 | 4.9 |
| 2025 | 8.1 | 18.5 | 4.1 | 4.3 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of California. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
319 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
108 violent and 211 property, as reported to the FBI by Twentynine Palms’ police.
The nearest California towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Desert Hot Springs | C | 30 mi | 4.9 | 12.2 |
| Indio | C+ | 30 mi | 3.1 | 12.5 |
| Cathedral City | C+ | 31 mi | 3.0 | 12.4 |
| Coachella | C | 32 mi | 3.0 | 15.4 |
| Palm Desert | C− | 33 mi | 2.5 | 28.4 |
| Rancho Mirage | C− | 34 mi | 2.1 | 25.3 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Twentynine Palms. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Twentynine Palms.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
17 people died in crashes on Twentynine Palms’s roads in 2019–2023
Twentynine Palms had 17 fatal crashes in five years, in which 17 people died; 4 were pedestrians.
That is 12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for California towns of 25,000–100,000 people (5.6, 231 towns).
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Twentynine Palms and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Twentynine Palms. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Twentynine Palms’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (26,211 in 2025); our figure for Twentynine Palms is 25,939 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Twentynine Palms
Is Twentynine Palms, CA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Twentynine Palms. The nearest California towns with a grade are Desert Hot Springs (C, 30 mi), Indio (C+, 30 mi), Cathedral City (C+, 31 mi).
Who polices Twentynine Palms?
Twentynine Palms’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Twentynine Palms”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Twentynine Palms.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.