Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hesperia

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Hesperia City HallPhoto: Gutterboi · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Hesperia · Not graded

Crime reported in Hesperia, CA

Hesperia’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
474
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
1,185
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
18 mi
San Bernardino (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 12 property crimes reported

And about 5 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (11.6)Violent crime (4.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Hesperia4.6
Rest of CA4.3
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Hesperia11.6
Rest of CA18.5
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Hesperia’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of California. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearHesperiaRest of CaliforniaHesperiaRest of California
202214.124.86.05.1
2023not reported25.0not reported5.4
202414.320.95.24.9
202511.618.54.64.3

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

1,659 crimes reported in 2025

474 violent and 1,185 property, as reported to the FBI by Hesperia’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft698
Burglary233
Vehicle theft254
Aggravated assault336
Robbery78
Rape54
Homicide6
Arson12
474
violent crimes
1,185
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest California towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
San BernardinoD−18 mi9.528.5
RialtoD20 mi5.924.1
FontanaC+22 mi2.612.3
ColtonC−24 mi3.824.1
RedlandsC−25 mi3.123.1
UplandC28 mi3.517.8

Straight-line distance from the center of Hesperia. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Hesperia.

On the roads

106 people died in crashes on Hesperia’s roads in 2019–2023

Hesperia had 98 fatal crashes in five years, in which 106 people died; 23 were pedestrians and 2 were cyclists. 20 died in crashes on an Interstate.

That is 21.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for California towns of 100,000+ people (7.7, 76 towns).

106
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
23
pedestrians among them
2
cyclists among them
21.0
per 100,000 a year · California towns of 100,000+: 7.7

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Hesperia and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Oak Hills———
Victorville———
Apple Valley———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Oak Hills is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own. Victorville and Apple Valley reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Hesperia. A citywide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of the city to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Hesperia’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (102,309 in 2025); our figure for Hesperia is 102,605 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Hesperia

Is Hesperia, CA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Hesperia. Hesperia’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest California towns with a grade are San Bernardino (D−, 18 mi), Rialto (D, 20 mi), Fontana (C+, 22 mi).

Who polices Hesperia?

Hesperia’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Hesperia”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Hesperia.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Hesperia feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.