Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Apple Valley

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Apple Valley · Not graded

Crime reported in Apple Valley, CA

Apple Valley’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
363
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
1,020
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
25 mi
Barstow (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 14 property crimes reported

And about 5 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (13.6)Violent crime (4.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Apple Valley4.9
Rest of CA4.3
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Apple Valley13.6
Rest of CA18.5
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Apple Valley’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of California. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearApple ValleyRest of CaliforniaApple ValleyRest of California
202214.924.85.75.1
2023not reported25.0not reported5.4
202416.020.85.24.9
202513.618.54.94.3

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

1,383 crimes reported in 2025

363 violent and 1,020 property, as reported to the FBI by Apple Valley’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft699
Burglary160
Vehicle theft161
Aggravated assault266
Robbery55
Rape41
Homicide1
Arson9
363
violent crimes
1,020
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest California towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
BarstowD−25 mi11.027.0
San BernardinoD−28 mi9.528.5
RialtoD30 mi5.924.1
FontanaC+33 mi2.612.3
RedlandsC−33 mi3.123.1
ColtonC−34 mi3.824.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Apple Valley. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Apple Valley.

On the roads

54 people died in crashes on Apple Valley’s roads in 2019–2023

Apple Valley had 52 fatal crashes in five years, in which 54 people died; 20 were pedestrians and 2 were cyclists. 1 died in crash on an Interstate.

That is 14.3 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for California towns of 25,000–100,000 people (5.6, 231 towns).

54
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
20
pedestrians among them
2
cyclists among them
14.3
per 100,000 a year · California towns of 25,000–100,000: 5.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Apple Valley and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Spring Valley Lake: not gradedVictorville: not gradedHesperia: not gradedSpring Valley LakeVictorvilleHesperiaApple Valley
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Spring Valley Lake———
Victorville———
Hesperia———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Spring Valley Lake is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own. Victorville and Hesperia reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Apple Valley. A citywide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of the city to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Apple Valley’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (74,823 in 2025); our figure for Apple Valley is 75,247 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Apple Valley

Is Apple Valley, CA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Apple Valley. Apple Valley’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest California towns with a grade are Barstow (D−, 25 mi), San Bernardino (D−, 28 mi), Rialto (D, 30 mi).

Who polices Apple Valley?

Apple Valley’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Apple Valley”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Apple Valley.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Apple Valley feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.