Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Grand Terrace

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Views of Grand Terrace, CAPhoto: Jsmithwikigt · CC BY 3.0
Grand Terrace Branch Library · part of San Bernardino County Library

Grand Terrace’s library is a branch of San Bernardino County Library, which lends more per resident than 51% of systems its size

Grand Terrace’s library is the Grand Terrace Branch Library, a branch of San Bernardino County Library, which serves 1,258,391 people and lent 5.2M items last year.

22795 Barton Rd., Grand Terrace 92313 · about 34 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 11% of U.S. towns · #286 of 448 in California. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
5.2M
4.1 per resident
Visits a year
1.4M
1.1 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
8,368
about 161 a week · 209K attended
Cardholders
24%
298,125 cards
Open
34 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

The short version on Grand Terrace’s library

Kids’ books are most of what goes out

Children’s books and media make up 76% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is higher than at 67% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

Most programs are for young children

66% of the 8,368 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 51 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Grand Terrace’s library is a branch of San Bernardino County Library, so they cover the whole system (1,258,391 people), not just the Grand Terrace branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Grand Terrace’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Grand Terrace is ahead of 11% of U.S. towns, #286 of 448 in California. Grand Terrace is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Grand Terrace’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Grand Terrace’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 11%
FewerMore
California towns we grade (448)Ahead of 36%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $63K–$105K (8,867)Ahead of 10%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($63K–$105K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

38 community nonprofits are registered in Grand Terrace

2.9 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture40.31 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation90.69 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans40.31 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services50.38 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education20.15 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health50.38 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals20.15 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other70.54 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (9 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 1 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

4.3%

4.3% of Grand Terrace’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Grand Terrace’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.1 visits · typical 2.1Lower than 87%
Borrowing per resident 3.2 print items · typical 3.2Higher than 51%
Digital borrowing 0.9 e-items · typical 1.4Lower than 63%
Kids’ borrowing 2.4 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 67%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.2Lower than 67%
Programs offered 6.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Lower than 69%
Cardholders 24% of residents · typical 41%Lower than 81%
Spending $29 per resident · typical $36Lower than 62%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

San Bernardino County Library serves 1,258,391 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 107 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole San Bernardino County Library system. The library’s own count.

1.4M
visits
1.1 per resident
5.2M
loans, print + digital
4.1 per resident
8,368
programs & events
209K attended
298K
library cards
24% of people served
Every open hour107items borrowed
Every week4,022people at a program
Every week27,329visits
133 staff (full-time equivalent)779 public computers

Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

5.2M loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

5.2Mloans
Books & media (adults) 19%Kids’ books & media 58%E-books, audio & streaming 23%
From your couch

1,182,034 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 106 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Grand Terrace →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–52,652
Ages 6–112,838
Teens553
Adults1,550
All ages775
Little ones
51

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

3M
kids’ books & media borrowed
209K
people at programs
8,368
programs
The building

Find it

Grand Terrace Branch Library, 22795 Barton Rd., Grand Terrace.

34
hours open a week
3,500
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every San Bernardino County Library branch.

New in Grand Terrace? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.03 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Grand Terrace cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$348
a year at retail prices · $29 a month

Who pays for it
$29 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $36M.

Local taxes 95%State 1%Federal 0%Gifts & other 4%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $73M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $36M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 298,125 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
ColtonColton Main Library fine-free0.346D−
Grand TerraceGrand Terrace Branch Library—34D

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: books & media on the shelves. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Grand Terrace Branch Library is one branch of San Bernardino County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 1,258,391 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Grand Terrace

Does Grand Terrace have a public library?

Yes: Grand Terrace Branch Library, 22795 Barton Rd., is a branch of San Bernardino County Library, which serves 1,258,391 people. The branch is open about 34 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is San Bernardino County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Grand Terrace’s library?

It logged 1.1 visits and lent 4.1 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Grand Terrace’s civic life grade?

D Grand Terrace is ahead of 11% of U.S. towns on civic life, #286 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Grand Terrace.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.