Photo: formulanone · CC BY-SA 2.0Dos Palos’ library is a branch of Merced County Library, which lends less per resident than 93% of systems its size
Dos Palos’s library is the Dos Palos Branch Library, a branch of Merced County Library, which serves 287,303 people and lent 299K items last year.
What Dos Palos’s library is like
Open only about 19 hours a week
The Dos Palos branch keeps short hours: about 19 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓
Few residents carry a card
Only 11% of the people the system serves have a library card, against a typical 41% for its size. How it compares ↓
Kids’ books are most of what goes out
Children’s books and media make up 62% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is lower than at 89% of similar-size libraries, so the high share mostly reflects light borrowing by adults. What people borrow ↓
Runs on less money than most
The Merced County Library system spends $15 per resident, less than 91% of similar-size libraries (typical: $36). What your card is worth ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Dos Palos’s library is a branch of Merced County Library, so they cover the whole system (287,303 people), not just the Dos Palos branch.
What’s behind Dos Palos’ civic life grade
On community nonprofits and volunteering, Dos Palos is ahead of 6% of U.S. towns, #342 of 448 in California. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Dos Palos is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Dos Palos’ count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.
The survey’s stand-in for Dos Palos’ 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.
Merced County Library spends $15 per resident, against a typical $36 for libraries its size.
Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($32K–$53K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
16 community nonprofits are registered in Dos Palos
2.8 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.
Community nonprofits, by kind
Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (10 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.
2.4%
2.4% of Dos Palos’ Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Dos Palos’ residents live; 2022.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.
Merced County Library serves 287,303 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.
Every hour the doors are open, about 16 items go out
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Merced County Library system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
More than half the print loans are kids’ books
299K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.
43,808 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.
About 25 kids’ programs a week
Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
Find it
Dos Palos Branch Library, 2002 Almond, Dos Palos.















E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Merced County Library branch.
New in Dos Palos? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.05 worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Dos Palos cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $4.3M.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $4.5M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $4.3M budget.
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 30,587 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Merced County Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- System-wide. Dos Palos Branch Library is one branch of Merced County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 287,303 people it serves.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Dos Palos
Does Dos Palos have a public library?
Yes: Dos Palos Branch Library, 2002 Almond, is a branch of Merced County Library, which serves 287,303 people. The branch is open about 19 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Merced County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Dos Palos’ library?
It lent 1.0 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 3,113 programs that drew 20,935 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Dos Palos’ civic life grade?
D Dos Palos is ahead of 6% of U.S. towns on civic life, #342 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Dos Palos.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.