Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Crescent City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Crescent City, CAPhoto: Mike · CC BY 2.0
Del Norte County Library District

Crescent City’s library runs 25 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 14 for libraries its size

Del Norte County Library District serves 26,345 people in and around Crescent City. Last year it lent 27K print books and media and drew 1,737 people to its programs.

190 Price Mall, Crescent City 95531 · about 46 hours a week
B−Civic lifeAhead of 48% of U.S. towns · #157 of 448 in California. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
27K
1 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
667
about 13 a week · 1,737 attended
Cardholders
53%
13,882 cards
Open
46 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

The short version on Crescent City’s library

Programs are almost all for children

84% of the 667 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 1.5 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

California pays a big share

25% of the budget comes from the state, and 74% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

Runs on less money than most

Del Norte County Library District spends $13 per resident, less than 92% of similar-size libraries (typical: $40). What your card is worth ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Del Norte County Library District serves 26,345 people in and around Crescent City, and its numbers cover all of them.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Crescent City’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Crescent City is ahead of 48% of U.S. towns, #157 of 448 in California. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Crescent City is graded on two of the three inputs. Crescent City’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Crescent City’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 48%
FewerMore
California towns we grade (448)Ahead of 65%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $27K–$44K (1,113)Ahead of 64%

The survey’s stand-in for Crescent City’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out. What the library did report is strong: 667 programs, 25 per 1,000 residents, against a typical 14 for its size.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Crescent City is small (6,002 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

28 community nonprofits are registered in Crescent City

4.6 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture40.61 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation40.66 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans50.86 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services40.66 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education30.43 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.10 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals30.56 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other40.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (7 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.5%

6.5% of Crescent City’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Crescent City’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 1 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 88%
Kids’ borrowing 0.4 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 87%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.3Bottom 10%
Programs offered 25.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Higher than 81%
Cardholders 53% of residents · typical 39%Higher than 71%
Spending $13 per resident · typical $40Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Del Norte County Library District serves 26,345 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 8 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Del Norte County Library District system. The library’s own count.

27K
loans, print + digital
1 per resident
667
programs & events
1,737 attended
14K
library cards
53% of people served
Every open hour8items borrowed
Every week33people at a program
7 staff (full-time equivalent)13 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

27K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

27Kloans
Books & media (adults) 58%Kids’ books & media 42%
From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 11 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Crescent City →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–577
Ages 6–11486
Teens16
Adults65
All ages23
Little ones
1.5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

12K
kids’ books & media borrowed
1,737
people at programs
667
programs
The building

Find it

Del Norte County Library District, 190 Price Mall, Crescent City.

46
hours open a week
6,250
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Del Norte County Library District branch.

New in Crescent City? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.25 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Crescent City cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$13 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $337K.

Local taxes 74%State 25%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $423K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $337K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 13,882 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

Bertsch-Oceanview: no library of its ownBertsch-OceanviewCrescent City
12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Crescent CityDel Norte County Library District fine-free—46B−
Bertsch-OceanviewNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Del Norte County Library District didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Del Norte County Library District serves 26,345 people in and around Crescent City, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Crescent City.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Crescent City

Does Crescent City have a public library?

Yes. Del Norte County Library District, 190 Price Mall, serves 26,345 people in and around Crescent City (the survey’s count) and is open about 46 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Del Norte County Library District fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Crescent City’s library?

It lent 1.0 items per resident in 2024 (print) and ran 667 programs that drew 1,737 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Crescent City’s civic life grade?

B− Crescent City is ahead of 48% of U.S. towns on civic life, #157 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Crescent City.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.