Photo: Magi Media (originally uploaded on en.wikipedia.org by Magi Media; transferred to Commons by JaumeBG). · Public domainWhat is recorded in Big Bear City, and why there is no grade
For a graded neighbor, the nearest is Banning (C), 22 miles away. Big Bear City’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. A 25-mile circle around it holds 2 towns with a grade.
For every 1,000 residents, about 15 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 8 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Big Bear City’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Big Bear City | Rest of California | Big Bear City | Rest of California |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 15.3 | 24.8 | 14.2 | 5.1 |
| 2023 | not reported | 25.0 | not reported | 5.4 |
| 2024 | 21.2 | 20.8 | 15.8 | 4.9 |
| 2025 | 15.1 | 18.5 | 7.7 | 4.3 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of California. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
115 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
39 violent and 76 property, as reported to the FBI by Big Bear City’s police.
The nearest California towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banning | C | 22 mi | 4.2 | 11.3 |
| Calimesa | C+ | 24 mi | 1.5 | 19.1 |
| Desert Hot Springs | C | 25 mi | 4.9 | 12.2 |
| Redlands | C− | 26 mi | 3.1 | 23.1 |
| Beaumont | B− | 27 mi | 2.5 | 9.8 |
| San Bernardino | D− | 30 mi | 9.5 | 28.5 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Big Bear City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Big Bear City.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Two people died in crashes on Big Bear City’s roads in 2019–2023
Big Bear City had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died; 1 was a pedestrian.
That is about what is typical for California towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (5.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Big Bear City’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Big Bear City’s own rate (3.5) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Big Bear City and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Big Bear Lake | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Big Bear Lake has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Big Bear City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Big Bear City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,045 in 2025); our figure for Big Bear City is 11,431 (census survey, 2020–24).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Big Bear City
Is Big Bear City, CA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Big Bear City. The nearest California towns with a grade are Banning (C, 22 mi), Calimesa (C+, 24 mi), Desert Hot Springs (C, 25 mi).
Who polices Big Bear City?
Big Bear City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Big Bear”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Big Bear City.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.