Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Anaheim

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Sleeping beauty castle dlr 2019Photo: CrispyCream27 · CC BY-SA 4.0
Anaheim Public Library

Anaheim’s library runs 16 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 9 for libraries its size

Anaheim Public Library serves Anaheim’s 340,160 residents from 8 locations. Last year it lent 1.1M books, movies and e-books and logged 607K visits.

500 W. Broadway, Anaheim 92805 · about 43 hours a week
D−Civic lifeAhead of 5% of U.S. towns · #354 of 448 in California. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
1.1M
3.1 per resident
Visits a year
607K
1.8 per resident · Below typical (2.1)
Programs & events
5,372
about 103 a week · 175K attended
Cardholders
93%
317,524 cards
Open
43 hrs
a week
In brief

Anaheim’s library, in brief

Nearly everyone in Anaheim has a card

317,524 cards for 340,160 people, or 93%. At the typical library serving 100,000+ people, it’s 41%. How it compares ↓

Most programs are for young children

78% of the 5,372 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 12 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

Still charges late fines, unlike its neighbors

Anaheim Public Library charges late fines on some overdue items. Six of the seven libraries in neighboring towns have dropped them. What your card is worth ↓

Programs draw a crowd

175,000 people came to the library’s 5,372 programs last year: 0.5 per resident, against a typical 0.2, more than at 91% of similar-size libraries. Kids & programs ↓

Eight places to borrow in Anaheim

Anaheim Public Library runs eight locations, and one card works at all of them. The buildings ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Anaheim’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Anaheim is ahead of 5% of U.S. towns, #354 of 448 in California. Among the 385 U.S. cities over 100,000 we grade, it ranks #341. All three inputs sit below most U.S. towns; library visits come closest to the middle.

D−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Anaheim’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 5%
FewerMore
California towns we grade (448)Ahead of 21%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $71K–$119K (7,726)Ahead of 4%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($71K–$119K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from D− to D. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

634 community nonprofits are registered in Anaheim

1.8 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture540.16 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation780.23 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans660.19 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services1300.38 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education930.27 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health400.12 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals180.05 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other1550.45 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (409 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 78 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

3.5%

3.5% of Anaheim’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.9% in the typical California town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Anaheim’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

About 80 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Anaheim →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5649
Ages 6–113,535
Teens369
Adults550
All ages269
Little ones
12.5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
6

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Anaheim last year.

175K
people at programs
5,372
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.8 visits · typical 2.1Lower than 64%
Borrowing per resident 2.4 print items · typical 3.2Lower than 66%
Digital borrowing 0.7 e-items · typical 1.4Lower than 72%
Kids’ borrowing 1.3 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 58%
Program attendance 0.5 attendees · typical 0.2Top 10%
Programs offered 15.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 81%
Cardholders 93% of residents · typical 41%Top 10%
Spending $47 per resident · typical $36Higher than 63%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in CA#79Most-used librariesof 116 towns
#79Most library borrowingof 117 towns
#83Best libraries for kidsof 117 towns
Size group

Anaheim Public Library serves 340,160 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Anaheim Public Library - Central

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

607K
visits
1.8 per resident
1.1M
loans, print + digital
3.1 per resident
5,372
programs & events
175K attended
318K
library cards
93% of people served
Every week3,372people at a program
Every week11,670visits
103 staff (full-time equivalent)138 public computers542K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

1.1M loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

1.1Mloans
Books & media (adults) 34%Kids’ books & media 43%E-books, audio & streaming 23%
How hard the shelves work
1.5×

Each of the 542K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.5 times last year, on average.

From your couch

250,670 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

The buildings

8 places to borrow in Anaheim

Anaheim Public Library - Central, 500 W. Broadway, Anaheim.

43
hours open a week
67,500
square feet
542K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Anaheim? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

Other libraries in Anaheim

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.07 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Anaheim cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$47 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $16M.

Local taxes 94%State 1%Federal 2%Gifts & other 3%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $17M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $16M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 317,524 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Anaheim ranks 4th of 6 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Yorba LindaYorba Linda Public Library24.858B
PlacentiaPlacentia Library District fine-free6.461C−
OrangeOrange Public Library & History Center fine-free4.751C−
AnaheimAnaheim Public Library - Central3.143D−
FullertonFullerton Main Library fine-free2.936D
Buena ParkBuena Park Library District fine-free2.652D−
StantonStanton Branch Library fine-free—44D−
Garden GroveGarden Grove Main Library fine-free—60D−

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Anaheim

Does Anaheim have a public library?

Yes. Anaheim Public Library, 500 W. Broadway, serves Anaheim’s 340,160 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 43 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Anaheim Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Anaheim’s library?

It logged 1.8 visits and lent 3.1 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.1 visits for libraries serving 100,000+ people.

What is Anaheim’s civic life grade?

D− Anaheim is ahead of 5% of U.S. towns on civic life, #354 of 448 in California. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Anaheim.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.