Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Camp Verde

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Camp Verde, ArizonaPhoto: Seasider53 · CC BY 4.0
Camp Verde Community Library

Camp Verde’s library runs 108 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 24 for libraries its size

Camp Verde Community Library serves Camp Verde’s 12,390 residents. Last year it lent 93K books, movies and e-books and logged 93K visits.

130 Black Bridge Rd, Camp Verde 86322 · about 60 hours a week
BCivic lifeAhead of 55% of U.S. towns · #22 of 68 in Arizona. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
93K
7.5 per resident
Visits a year
93K
7.5 per resident · Above typical (3.1)
Programs & events
1,337
about 26 a week · 18K attended
Cardholders
25%
3,063 cards
Open
60 hrs
a week
In brief

Camp Verde’s library, in brief

Four times the programs of a typical library its size

Camp Verde Community Library ran 1,337 programs last year, about 26 a week. That’s 108 per 1,000 residents, against a typical 24. People show up: 18,000 attended. Kids & programs ↓

People come to Camp Verde Community Library a lot

Camp Verde Community Library logs 7.5 visits per resident, against a typical 3.1 for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people, more than 92% of similar-size libraries. Borrowing is above typical too, at 5.5 print items per resident. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Camp Verde’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Camp Verde is ahead of 55% of U.S. towns, #22 of 68 in Arizona. Library visits hold the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Camp Verde’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 55%
FewerMore
Arizona towns we grade (68)Ahead of 69%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $52K–$87K (8,975)Ahead of 52%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would range from C to B+. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

44 community nonprofits are registered in Camp Verde

3.5 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture30.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation50.40 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans50.40 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services120.96 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education50.40 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health40.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals70.56 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other30.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (18 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.1%

6.1% of Camp Verde’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.0% in the typical Arizona town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Camp Verde’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

About 9 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Camp Verde →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–565
Ages 6–11388
Teens152
Adults282
All ages450
Little ones
1.3

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
8

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Camp Verde last year.

18K
people at programs
1,337
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 6 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 7.5 visits · typical 3.1Top 10%
Borrowing per resident 5.5 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 67%
Digital borrowing 2.1 e-items · typical 1.1Higher than 76%
Kids’ borrowing 1.7 kids’ items · typical 1.8Lower than 52%
Program attendance 1.4 attendees · typical 0.4Top 10%
Programs offered 107.9 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Top 10%
Cardholders 25% of residents · typical 40%Lower than 78%
Spending $66 per resident · typical $43Higher than 75%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in AZ#9Most-used librariesof 40 towns
#13Most library borrowingof 40 towns
#18Best libraries for kidsof 40 towns
Size group

Camp Verde Community Library serves 12,390 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 30 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

93K
visits
7.5 per resident
93K
loans, print + digital
7.5 per resident
1,337
programs & events
18K attended
3,063
library cards
25% of people served
Every open hour30items borrowed
Every week342people at a program
Every week1,782visits
11 staff (full-time equivalent)14 public computers30K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: funding. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

93K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

93Kloans
Books & media (adults) 50%Kids’ books & media 22%E-books, audio & streaming 27%
How hard the shelves work
2.3×

Each of the 30K books and other items on the shelves went out about 2.3 times last year, on average.

From your couch

25,534 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

The building

Find it

Camp Verde Community Library, 130 Black Bridge Rd, Camp Verde.

60
hours open a week
17,000
square feet
30K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Camp Verde? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.96 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Camp Verde cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
1
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$528
a year at retail prices · $44 a month

Who pays for it
$66 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $819K.

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.6M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $819K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 3,063 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
CottonwoodCottonwood Public Library fine-free19.750B
Camp VerdeCamp Verde Community Library fine-free7.560B

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: funding. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Camp Verde

Does Camp Verde have a public library?

Yes. Camp Verde Community Library, 130 Black Bridge Rd, serves Camp Verde’s 12,390 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 60 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Camp Verde Community Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Camp Verde’s library?

It logged 7.5 visits and lent 7.5 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is Camp Verde’s civic life grade?

B Camp Verde is ahead of 55% of U.S. towns on civic life, #22 of 68 in Arizona. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Camp Verde.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.