Lee's Chapel Church and Masonic Hall · Photo: Kennethrorie · CC BY-SA 3.0Cave City: recorded crime, not graded
Cave City’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Batesville, 13 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (C−). Out to 25 miles, the count of graded towns reaches 5.
For every 1,000 residents, about 10 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 4 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Cave City’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Cave City | Rest of Arkansas | Cave City | Rest of Arkansas |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 31.3 | not reported | 7.8 |
| 2023 | not reported | 28.9 | not reported | 7.5 |
| 2024 | 7.9 | 24.8 | 3.0 | 6.9 |
| 2025 | 10.3 | 20.5 | 4.4 | 6.2 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Arkansas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
30 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
9 violent and 21 property, as reported to the FBI by Cave City’s police.
The nearest Arkansas towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Batesville | C− | 13 mi | 5.4 | 15.1 |
| Ash Flat | C− | 20 mi | 2.0 | 30.7 |
| Highland | B− | 22 mi | 1.9 | 9.4 |
| Cherokee Village | B+ | 24 mi | 1.6 | 5.7 |
| Tuckerman | B− | 25 mi | 2.0 | 9.0 |
| Newport | D | 29 mi | 6.5 | 17.0 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Cave City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Cave City.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Four people died in crashes on Cave City’s roads in 2019–2023
Cave City had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which four people died.
That is more than is typical for Arkansas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.5 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Cave City’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Cave City’s own rate (38.3) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Cave City and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Cave City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Cave City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,029 in 2025); our figure for Cave City is 1,987 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Cave City
Is Cave City, AR safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Cave City. The nearest Arkansas towns with a grade are Batesville (C−, 13 mi), Ash Flat (C−, 20 mi), Highland (B−, 22 mi).
Who polices Cave City?
Cave City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Cave City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Cave City.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.