Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hollis

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Hollis Public Library

Hollis’ library lends 11 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size

Hollis Public Library serves Hollis’s 145 residents. Last year it lent 1,623 books, movies and e-books and logged 893 visits.

No. 1 Hollis Chilkat Road, Hollis 99950
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
1,623
11.2 per resident
Visits a year
893
6.2 per resident · Above typical (3.5)
Programs & events
17
about 1 a week · 68 attended
Cardholders
100%
218 cards
In brief

Hollis’s library, in brief

More library cards than residents

218 cards for 145 people. Cards held by people from outside the service area count too, so the total can pass the population. At the typical library serving under 2,500 people, it’s 54%. How it compares ↓

Alaska pays a big share

76% of the budget comes from the state, and 11% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

A small-town library

Hollis Public Library serves 145 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Hollis is a town of borrowers

Hollis Public Library lends 11 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries serving under 2,500 people, more than 88% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

A place to get online

Hollis Public Library logs about 2 Wi-Fi sessions a day and has 1 public computers. That’s 5 sessions per resident a year. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Hollis’ civic life grade

Hollis isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Hollis’ overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

★ What stands out · What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

1,623 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

1,623loans
Books & media (adults) 74%Kids’ books & media 22%E-books, audio & streaming 4%
How hard the shelves work
0.2×

Each of the 8,408 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.2 time last year, on average.

From your couch

70 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 6 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 6.2 visits · typical 3.5Higher than 76%
Borrowing per resident 10.7 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 88%
Digital borrowing 0.5 e-items · typical 1Lower than 66%
Kids’ borrowing 2.4 kids’ items · typical 1.4Higher than 69%
Program attendance 0.5 attendees · typical 0.7Lower than 62%
Programs offered 117.2 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Higher than 73%
Cardholders 100% of residents · typical 54%Top 10%
Spending $55 per resident · typical $54Higher than 51%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Hollis Public Library serves 145 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

A year at Hollis Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

893
visits
6.2 per resident
1,623
loans, print + digital
11.2 per resident
17
programs & events
68 attended
218
library cards
100% of people served
Every week1people at a program
Every day2Wi-Fi sessions
1 public computers8,408 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

17 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Hollis →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–510
Ages 6–110
Teens0
Adults7
All ages0
Little ones
0.2

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

350
kids’ books & media borrowed
68
people at programs
17
programs
The building

Find it

Hollis Public Library, No. 1 Hollis Chilkat Road, Hollis.

750
square feet
8,408
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home.

New in Hollis? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $3.58 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Hollis cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$55 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $7,957.

Local taxes 11%State 76%Gifts & other 13%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $28K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $7,957 budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 218 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Hollis

Does Hollis have a public library?

Yes. Hollis Public Library, No. 1 Hollis Chilkat Road, serves Hollis’ 145 residents (the survey’s count).

Is Hollis Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Hollis’ library?

It logged 6.2 visits and lent 11.2 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Hollis’ civic life grade?

Hollis isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Hollis.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.