Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Sophia

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Sophia West VirginiaPhoto: Tim Kiser (w:User:Malepheasant) · CC BY-SA 2.5
Sophia · part of Raleigh County Public Library

Sophia’s library is a branch of Raleigh County Public Library, which lends less per resident than 63% of systems its size

Sophia’s library is the Sophia, a branch of Raleigh County Public Library, which serves 74,591 people and lent 248K items last year.

103 First St., Sophia 25921 · about 44 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than two of the three inputs
Borrowed a year
248K
3.3 per resident
Visits a year
135K
1.8 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
842
about 16 a week · 22K attended
Cardholders
60%
44,392 cards
Open
44 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Sophia

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Sophia’s civic life grade

Sophia isn’t graded on civic life: its library is a branch of Raleigh County Public Library, so there is no town figure for visits and the volunteering estimate doesn’t cover enough of it.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Sophia’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

3 community nonprofits are registered in Sophia

2.1 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.26 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans00.26 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services10.79 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.26 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.52 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.8 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 69%
Borrowing per resident 2.8 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 63%
Digital borrowing 0.6 e-items · typical 1.2Lower than 74%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.3Lower than 55%
Programs offered 11.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Lower than 62%
Cardholders 60% of residents · typical 39%Higher than 79%
Spending $18 per resident · typical $40Lower than 83%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Raleigh County Public Library serves 74,591 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

A year at Raleigh County Public Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Raleigh County Public Library system. The library’s own count.

135K
visits
1.8 per resident
248K
loans, print + digital
3.3 per resident
842
programs & events
22K attended
44K
library cards
60% of people served
Every week426people at a program
Every day10Wi-Fi sessions
23 staff (full-time equivalent)11 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

248K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Sophia’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

From your couch

42,527 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 9 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Sophia →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5259
Ages 6–11208
Teens82
Adults157
All ages136
Little ones
5

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

22K
people at programs
842
programs
The building

Find it

Sophia, 103 First St., Sophia.

44
hours open a week
2,208
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Raleigh County Public Library branch.

New in Sophia? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $3.20 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Sophia cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$18 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $1.4M.

Local taxes 60%State 27%Gifts & other 13%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $4.4M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.4M budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 44,392 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
SophiaSophia—44— too few inputs
Crab OrchardNone of its own——— unincorporated

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Sophia is one branch of Raleigh County Public Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 74,591 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Sophia

Does Sophia have a public library?

Yes: Sophia, 103 First St., is a branch of Raleigh County Public Library, which serves 74,591 people. The branch is open about 44 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Raleigh County Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Sophia’s library?

It logged 1.8 visits and lent 3.3 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Sophia’s civic life grade?

Sophia isn’t graded on civic life: its library is a branch of Raleigh County Public Library, so there is no town figure for visits and the volunteering estimate doesn’t cover enough of it. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Sophia.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.