Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Madison

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Boone County CourthouseBoone County Courthouse · Photo: Tim Kiser (w:User:Malepheasant) · CC BY-SA 3.0 us
Safety in Madison · Not graded

Crime reported in Madison, WV

Madison’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
5
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
20
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
20 mi
South Charleston (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 7 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (7.4)Violent crime (1.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Madison1.9
Rest of WV3.9
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Madison7.4
Rest of WV24.5
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Madison’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of West Virginia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMadisonRest of West VirginiaMadisonRest of West Virginia
20227.928.53.25.2
202311.325.70.74.7
20247.424.51.93.9
2025not reported23.4not reported3.6

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

25 crimes reported in 2024

5 violent and 20 property, as reported to the FBI by Madison’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft12
Burglary7
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault5
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
5
violent crimes
20
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest West Virginia towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
South CharlestonD−20 mi5.051.8
DunbarC−21 mi3.818.4
St. AlbansC22 mi2.222.6
CharlestonD22 mi5.734.6
NitroD24 mi1.842.5
BarboursvilleC36 mi0.928.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Madison. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Madison.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Madison’s roads in 2019–2023

Madison had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for West Virginia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Madison’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Madison’s own rate (7.2) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
7.2
per 100,000 a year · West Virginia towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Madison and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Danville: not gradedDanvilleMadison
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Madison. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Madison’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,690 in 2024); our figure for Madison is 2,678 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Madison

Is Madison, WV safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Madison. Madison’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest West Virginia towns with a grade are South Charleston (D−, 20 mi), Dunbar (C−, 21 mi), St. Albans (C, 22 mi).

Who polices Madison?

Madison’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Madison”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Madison.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Madison feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.