Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Fairview

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Fairview · part of Marion County Public Library

Fairview’s library is a branch of Marion County Public Library, which lends less per resident than 61% of systems its size

Fairview’s library is the Fairview, a branch of Marion County Public Library, which serves 56,205 people and lent 250K items last year.

500 Main Street, Fairview 26570 · about 38 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
250K
4.4 per resident
Visits a year
102K
1.8 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
1,007
about 19 a week · 20K attended
Cardholders
36%
20,319 cards
Open
38 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Fairview

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Fairview’s civic life grade

Fairview isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Fairview’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 3 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 1.8 visits · typical 2.6Lower than 69%
Borrowing per resident 2.9 print items · typical 3.7Lower than 61%
Digital borrowing 1.6 e-items · typical 1.2Higher than 62%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.3Higher than 54%
Programs offered 17.9 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Higher than 63%
Cardholders 36% of residents · typical 39%Lower than 58%
Spending $30 per resident · typical $40Lower than 64%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Marion County Public Library serves 56,205 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

A year at Marion County Public Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Marion County Public Library system. The library’s own count.

102K
visits
1.8 per resident
250K
loans, print + digital
4.4 per resident
1,007
programs & events
20K attended
20K
library cards
36% of people served
Every week375people at a program
Every week1,969visits
23 staff (full-time equivalent)25 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

250K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Fairview’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

From your couch

88,441 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 12 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Fairview →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5451
Ages 6–11181
Teens114
Adults200
All ages61
Little ones
8.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

20K
people at programs
1,007
programs
The building

Find it

Fairview, 500 Main Street, Fairview.

38
hours open a week
3,600
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Marion County Public Library branch.

New in Fairview? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.54 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Fairview cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$30 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $1.7M.

Local taxes 77%State 17%Federal 1%Gifts & other 5%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $4.3M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.7M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 20,319 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Fairview is one branch of Marion County Public Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 56,205 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Fairview

Does Fairview have a public library?

Yes: Fairview, 500 Main Street, is a branch of Marion County Public Library, which serves 56,205 people. The branch is open about 38 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Marion County Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Fairview’s library?

It logged 1.8 visits and lent 4.4 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Fairview’s civic life grade?

Fairview isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Fairview.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.