Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Wonewoc

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Wonewoc Public Library

Wonewoc’s library runs 193 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 60 for libraries its size

Wonewoc Public Library serves Wonewoc’s 1,767 residents. Last year it lent 18K print books and media and drew 4,134 people to its programs.

305 Center St., Wonewoc 53968 · about 45 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
18K
9.9 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
341
about 7 a week · 4,134 attended
Cardholders
47%
825 cards
Open
45 hrs
a week
In brief

Wonewoc’s library, in brief

A small-town library

Wonewoc Public Library serves 1,767 residents with about 2 full-time staff, open about 45 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

A place to get online

Wonewoc Public Library logs about 114 Wi-Fi sessions a day and has 9 public computers. That’s 24 sessions per resident a year. A year at the library ↓

Programs lean toward adults

81% of the 341 programs last year were for adults: classes, talks, clubs and events. 36 were for children. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Wonewoc’s civic life grade

Wonewoc isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Wonewoc’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

341 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Wonewoc →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–516
Ages 6–1120
Teens12
Adults275
All ages18
Little ones
0.3

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
38

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Wonewoc last year.

4,134
people at programs
341
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 5 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 9.9 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 86%
Kids’ borrowing 3.9 kids’ items · typical 1.4Higher than 83%
Program attendance 2.3 attendees · typical 0.7Higher than 88%
Programs offered 193 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Higher than 87%
Cardholders 47% of residents · typical 54%Lower than 58%
Spending $95 per resident · typical $54Higher than 81%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Wonewoc Public Library serves 1,767 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 7 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

18K
loans, print + digital
9.9 per resident
341
programs & events
4,134 attended
825
library cards
47% of people served
Every open hour7items borrowed
Every week80people at a program
Every day114Wi-Fi sessions
2 staff (full-time equivalent)9 public computers14K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

18K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

18Kloans
Books & media (adults) 60%Kids’ books & media 40%
How hard the shelves work
1.3×

Each of the 14K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.3 time last year, on average.

From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

The building

Find it

Wonewoc Public Library, 305 Center St., Wonewoc.

45
hours open a week
7,221
square feet
14K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Wonewoc? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.55 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Wonewoc cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
4
Your card saves you about
$492
a year at retail prices · $41 a month

Who pays for it
$95 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $168K.

Local taxes 100%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $429K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $168K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 825 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Wonewoc Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Wonewoc

Does Wonewoc have a public library?

Yes. Wonewoc Public Library, 305 Center St., serves Wonewoc’s 1,767 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 45 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Wonewoc Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Wonewoc’s library?

It lent 9.9 items per resident in 2024 (print) and ran 341 programs that drew 4,134 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Wonewoc’s civic life grade?

Wonewoc isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Wonewoc.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.