Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Cudahy

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
South Packard Avenue - CudahyPhoto: formulanone · CC BY-SA 2.0
Cudahy Family Library

Cudahy’s library lends 11 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size

Cudahy Family Library serves Cudahy’s 17,924 residents. Last year it lent 214K books, movies and e-books and drew 13K people to its programs.

3500 Library Dr., Cudahy 53110 · about 56 hours a week
C+Civic lifeAhead of 43% of U.S. towns · #242 of 358 in Wisconsin. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
214K
11.9 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
390
about 8 a week · 13K attended
Cardholders
29%
5,251 cards
Open
56 hrs
a week
In brief

Cudahy’s library, in brief

Wisconsin pays a big share

22% of the budget comes from the state, and 73% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

Kids borrow more here than almost anywhere

Children’s books and media are 39% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 85% of similar-size libraries. That works out to about 23 items per child in Cudahy last year. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Cudahy’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Cudahy is ahead of 43% of U.S. towns, #242 of 358 in Wisconsin. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Cudahy is graded on two of the three inputs. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; Cudahy’s count of community nonprofits pulls it down.

C+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Cudahy’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 43%
FewerMore
Wisconsin towns we grade (358)Ahead of 32%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $50K–$83K (8,738)Ahead of 40%

The survey’s stand-in for Cudahy’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2022 figure, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($50K–$83K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

30 community nonprofits are registered in Cudahy

1.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture30.17 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans120.67 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services60.34 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education40.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other50.28 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (8 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

10.5%

10.5% of Cudahy’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.6% in the typical Wisconsin town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Cudahy’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

214K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

214Kloans
Books & media (adults) 55%Kids’ books & media 36%E-books, audio & streaming 10%
How hard the shelves work
1.3×

Each of the 145K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.3 time last year, on average.

From your couch

20,888 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 5 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 10.8 print items · typical 3.9Top 10%
Digital borrowing 1.2 e-items · typical 1.1Higher than 52%
Kids’ borrowing 4.2 kids’ items · typical 1.8Higher than 85%
Program attendance 0.7 attendees · typical 0.4Higher than 74%
Programs offered 21.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Lower than 54%
Cardholders 29% of residents · typical 40%Lower than 70%
Spending $53 per resident · typical $43Higher than 62%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in WI
#10Most library borrowingof 30 towns
#12Best libraries for kidsof 30 towns
Size group

Cudahy Family Library serves 17,924 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 73 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

214K
loans, print + digital
11.9 per resident
390
programs & events
13K attended
5,251
library cards
29% of people served
Every open hour73items borrowed
Every week245people at a program
Every day19Wi-Fi sessions
10 staff (full-time equivalent)16 public computers145K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

About 4 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Cudahy →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–589
Ages 6–11105
Teens10
Adults176
All ages10
Little ones
1.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
23

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Cudahy last year.

13K
people at programs
390
programs
The building

Find it

Cudahy Family Library, 3500 Library Dr., Cudahy.

56
hours open a week
30,000
square feet
145K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Cudahy? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $3.57 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Cudahy cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
2
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$552
a year at retail prices · $46 a month

Who pays for it
$53 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $943K.

Local taxes 73%State 22%Gifts & other 5%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $3.4M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $943K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 5,251 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Cudahy ranks 2nd of 5 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
St. FrancisSt. Francis Public Library12.855A−
CudahyCudahy Family Library11.956C+
Oak CreekOak Creek Public Library7.760C+
South MilwaukeeSouth Milwaukee Public Library6.844C+
MilwaukeeMilwaukee Public Library2.856C+

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Cudahy Family Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2022 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Cudahy

Does Cudahy have a public library?

Yes. Cudahy Family Library, 3500 Library Dr., serves Cudahy’s 17,924 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 56 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Cudahy Family Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Cudahy’s library?

It lent 11.9 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 390 programs that drew 12,747 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Cudahy’s civic life grade?

C+ Cudahy is ahead of 43% of U.S. towns on civic life, #242 of 358 in Wisconsin. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Cudahy.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.