Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Cornell

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Cornell Pulpwood StackerCornell Pulpwood Stacker · Photo: Jeff the quiet · CC0
Safety in Cornell · Not graded

Crime reported in Cornell, WI

Cornell’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
9
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
17 mi
Bloomer (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 6 property crimes reported

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (6.2)Violent crime (2.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Cornell2.8
Rest of WI3.2
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Cornell6.2
Rest of WI13.5
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Cornell’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Wisconsin. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearCornellRest of WisconsinCornellRest of Wisconsin
20226.918.22.14.0
2023not reported16.0not reported3.9
2024not reported15.4not reported3.8
20256.213.52.83.2

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

13 crimes reported in 2025

4 violent and 9 property, as reported to the FBI by Cornell’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft6
Burglary3
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
9
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Wisconsin towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
BloomerB17 mi2.44.5
StanleyB−17 mi2.96.5
Chippewa FallsB20 mi2.35.8
LadysmithB+21 mi1.44.6
AltoonaC+29 mi0.621.0
Eau ClaireC+29 mi1.519.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Cornell. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Cornell.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Cornell’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Wisconsin towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Cornell’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Cornell’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Wisconsin towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Cornell and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Cornell. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Cornell’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,451 in 2025); our figure for Cornell is 1,443 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Cornell

Is Cornell, WI safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Cornell. Cornell’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Wisconsin towns with a grade are Bloomer (B, 17 mi), Stanley (B−, 17 mi), Chippewa Falls (B, 20 mi).

Who polices Cornell?

Cornell’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Cornell”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Cornell.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Cornell feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.