Photo: Christopher Sundita at English Wikipedia · CC BY-SA 3.0Crime recorded in Kettle Falls, and why it isn’t graded
Inside a 10-mile circle, only Colville carries a grade. Kettle Falls’ police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 11 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Kettle Falls’ police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Kettle Falls | Rest of Washington | Kettle Falls | Rest of Washington |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 15.6 | 43.7 | 4.2 | 4.8 |
| 2023 | 14.4 | 37.5 | 1.2 | 4.4 |
| 2024 | 10.8 | 32.9 | 1.2 | 4.1 |
| 2025 | not reported | 25.8 | not reported | 3.5 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Washington. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
20 crimes reported in 2024
2024 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
2 violent and 18 property, as reported to the FBI by Kettle Falls’ police.
The nearest Washington towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colville | A | 9 mi | 0.3 | 4.7 |
| Coulee Dam | C+ | 61 mi | 0.5 | 20.3 |
| Airway Heights | D | 70 mi | 3.9 | 38.2 |
| Spokane | D− | 71 mi | 6.6 | 48.7 |
| Spokane Valley | D | 76 mi | 2.6 | 34.2 |
| Liberty Lake | C+ | 78 mi | 1.6 | 15.2 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Kettle Falls. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Kettle Falls.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
No one died in a crash on Kettle Falls’s roads in 2019–2023
That is about what is typical for Washington towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Kettle Falls’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Kettle Falls’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Kettle Falls and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Kettle Falls. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Kettle Falls’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,663 in 2024); our figure for Kettle Falls is 1,657 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Kettle Falls
Is Kettle Falls, WA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Kettle Falls. The nearest Washington towns with a grade are Colville (A, 9 mi), Coulee Dam (C+, 61 mi), Airway Heights (D, 70 mi).
Who polices Kettle Falls?
Kettle Falls’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Kettle Falls”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Kettle Falls.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.