Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Ilwaco

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Ilwaco, Washington - panoramioPhoto: Sam Beebe/Ecotrust · CC BY-SA 3.0
Ilwaco Timberland Library · part of Timberland Regional Library

Ilwaco’s library is a branch of Timberland Regional Library, which lends more per resident than 69% of systems its size

Ilwaco’s library is the Ilwaco Timberland Library, a branch of Timberland Regional Library, which serves 547,900 people and lent 5.2M items last year.

158 1st Ave. N., Ilwaco 98624 · about 38 hours a week
A+Civic lifeAhead of 96% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
5.2M
9.6 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
5,219
about 100 a week · 92K attended
Cardholders
40%
220,361 cards
Open
38 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Ilwaco Timberland Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Ilwaco’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Ilwaco is ahead of 96% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Ilwaco is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; Ilwaco’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Ilwaco’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 96%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $74K–$123K (7,336)Ahead of 97%

The survey’s stand-in for Ilwaco’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Ilwaco is small (1,112 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

11 community nonprofits are registered in Ilwaco

8.1 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture21.47 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans42.93 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services10.73 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health21.47 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.73 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.73 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (3 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

11.3%

11.3% of Ilwaco’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.7% in the typical Washington town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Ilwaco’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · What people borrow

49% of borrowing is digital

5.2M loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

5.2Mloans
Books & media (adults) 38%Kids’ books & media 13%E-books, audio & streaming 49%
From your couch

2,563,949 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 100,000+ people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 4.9 print items · typical 3.2Higher than 69%
Digital borrowing 4.7 e-items · typical 1.4Top 10%
Kids’ borrowing 1.2 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 65%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.2Lower than 66%
Programs offered 9.5 per 1,000 residents · typical 9Higher than 50%
Cardholders 40% of residents · typical 41%Lower than 51%
Spending $51 per resident · typical $36Higher than 68%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Timberland Regional Library serves 547,900 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 100,000+.

A year at the library

A year at Timberland Regional Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Timberland Regional Library system. The library’s own count.

5.2M
loans, print + digital
9.6 per resident
5,219
programs & events
92K attended
220K
library cards
40% of people served
Every week1,775people at a program
Every day387Wi-Fi sessions
222 staff (full-time equivalent)397 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

Kids & programs

About 47 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Ilwaco →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–51,666
Ages 6–11768
Teens468
Adults957
All ages1,360
Little ones
32

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

663K
kids’ books & media borrowed
92K
people at programs
5,219
programs
The building

Find it

Ilwaco Timberland Library, 158 1st Ave. N., Ilwaco.

38
hours open a week
3,167
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Timberland Regional Library branch.

New in Ilwaco? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.93 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Ilwaco cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
1
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$384
a year at retail prices · $32 a month

Who pays for it
$51 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $36. Operating budget $28M.

Local taxes 99%State 0%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $82M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $28M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 220,361 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Timberland Regional Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • System-wide. Ilwaco Timberland Library is one branch of Timberland Regional Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 547,900 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Ilwaco

Does Ilwaco have a public library?

Yes: Ilwaco Timberland Library, 158 1st Ave. N., is a branch of Timberland Regional Library, which serves 547,900 people. The branch is open about 38 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Timberland Regional Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Ilwaco’s library?

It lent 9.6 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 5,219 programs that drew 92,311 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Ilwaco’s civic life grade?

A+ Ilwaco is ahead of 96% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Ilwaco.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.