Photo: publichall · CC BY-SA 3.0Harrington Public Library serves Harrington’s 435 residents
Harrington Public Library serves Harrington’s 435 residents.
What stands out about Harrington’s library
Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.
What’s behind Harrington’s civic life grade
Harrington isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
A year at Harrington Public Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits, print loans, books & media on the shelves, library cards, hours open, spending, funding, staff and public computers. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Find it
Harrington Public Library, S 11 3rd Street, Harrington.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Harrington resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 435 people it serves ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Harrington Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2023 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans, books & media on the shelves, library cards, hours open, spending, funding, staff and public computers. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Harrington
Does Harrington have a public library?
Yes. Harrington Public Library, S 11 3rd Street, serves Harrington’s 435 residents (the survey’s count).
Is Harrington Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Harrington’s library?
It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Harrington’s civic life grade?
Harrington isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Harrington.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.