Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Connell

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Connell City HallPhoto: Chetsford · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Connell · Not graded

Crime reported in Connell, WA

Connell’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
30
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
19 mi
Othello (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 7 property crimes reported

And fewer than 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (6.6)Violent crime (0.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Connell0.2
Rest of WA4.1
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Connell6.6
Rest of WA32.9
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Connell’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Washington. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearConnellRest of WashingtonConnellRest of Washington
20229.343.71.24.8
20237.137.61.34.5
20246.632.90.24.1
2025not reported25.8not reported3.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

31 crimes reported in 2024

1 violent and 30 property, as reported to the FBI by Connell’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft19
Burglary6
Vehicle theft5
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson1
1
violent crimes
30
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Washington towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
OthelloC19 mi2.521.4
WardenB−23 mi2.112.4
PascoC−30 mi3.320.0
RichlandC34 mi2.521.8
West RichlandB+35 mi1.26.4
KennewickD36 mi3.732.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Connell. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Connell.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Connell’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Washington towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (3.7 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Connell’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Connell’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Washington towns of 5,000–25,000: 3.7

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Connell and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Connell
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Connell. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Connell’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,521 in 2024); our figure for Connell is 5,080 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Connell

Is Connell, WA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Connell. Connell’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Washington towns with a grade are Othello (C, 19 mi), Warden (B−, 23 mi), Pasco (C−, 30 mi).

Who polices Connell?

Connell’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Connell”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Connell.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Connell feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.