Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to West Fairlee

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
West Fairlee VT 12-20-2025Photo: Ascended Dreamer · CC BY-SA 4.0
West Fairlee Free Public

West Fairlee’s library logs 0.5 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size

West Fairlee Free Public serves West Fairlee’s 751 residents. Last year it lent 1,521 books, movies and e-books and logged 345 visits.

380 Rte. 113, West Fairlee 05083 · about 7 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
1,521
2 per resident
Visits a year
345
0.5 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Programs & events
3
about 1 a week · 63 attended
Cardholders
19%
143 cards
Open
7 hrs
a week
In brief

The short version on West Fairlee’s library

Mostly paid for by gifts, not taxes

82% of the library’s income comes from gifts, endowments, fees and other sources, not taxes. Local taxes cover 17%. What your card is worth ↓

Open only about 7 hours a week

West Fairlee Free Public keeps short hours: about 7 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. Bradford Public in Bradford, next door, is open about 28 hours a week. The building ↓

Every town next door borrows more

West Fairlee’s library lends 2 items per resident. Each of the three neighboring towns with a library of its own lends more, led by Fairlee at 9.5. Libraries next door ↓

Below typical on every measure

Against libraries serving under 2,500 people, West Fairlee Free Public sits below the middle on all seven per-resident measures we compare, and in the bottom 30% on six. How it compares ↓

Few programs for a library this size

West Fairlee Free Public offered 3 programs last year, 4 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind West Fairlee’s civic life grade

West Fairlee isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of West Fairlee’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.5 visits · typical 3.5Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 2 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 76%
Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1Lower than 82%
Kids’ borrowing 1.2 kids’ items · typical 1.4Lower than 53%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.7Bottom 10%
Programs offered 4 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Bottom 10%
Cardholders 19% of residents · typical 54%Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

West Fairlee Free Public serves 751 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 4 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

345
visits
0.5 per resident
1,521
loans, print + digital
2 per resident
3
programs & events
63 attended
143
library cards
19% of people served
Every open hour4items borrowed
Every week1people at a program
Every day0Wi-Fi sessions
3 public computers9,640 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

1,521 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

1,521loans
Books & media (adults) 39%Kids’ books & media 60%E-books, audio & streaming 0%
How hard the shelves work
0.2×

Each of the 9,640 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.2 time last year, on average.

From your couch

3 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

3 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in West Fairlee →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–50
Ages 6–112
Teens0
Adults0
All ages1
920
kids’ books & media borrowed
63
people at programs
3
programs
The building

Find it

West Fairlee Free Public, 380 Rte. 113, West Fairlee.

7
hours open a week
1,036
square feet
9,640
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in West Fairlee? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average West Fairlee cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$348
a year at retail prices · $29 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 143 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

West Fairlee ranks 4th of 4 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
FairleeFairlee Public fine-free9.525B+
BradfordBradford Public fine-free4.328A−
StraffordMorrill Memorial & Harris fine-free4.220— too few inputs
West FairleeWest Fairlee Free Public fine-free2.07— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Visits are a typical-week estimate. West Fairlee Free Public counted one typical week and multiplied by 52, as the survey allows.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in West Fairlee

Does West Fairlee have a public library?

Yes. West Fairlee Free Public, 380 Rte. 113, serves West Fairlee’s 751 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 7 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is West Fairlee Free Public fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is West Fairlee’s library?

It logged 0.5 visits and lent 2.0 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is West Fairlee’s civic life grade?

West Fairlee isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in West Fairlee.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.