Wardsboro Free Public serves 1,153 people in and around Wardsboro
Wardsboro Free Public serves 1,153 people in and around Wardsboro.
What’s behind Wardsboro’s civic life grade
Wardsboro isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
A year at Wardsboro Free Public
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Wardsboro Free Public system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Find it
Wardsboro Free Public, 170 Main St., Wardsboro.















Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Wardsboro Free Public branch.
New in Wardsboro? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Wardsboro resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,153 people it serves ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dover | Dover Free Library fine-free | 8.0 | 43 | A |
| Townshend | Townshend Public fine-free | 3.2 | 22 | A− |
| Jamaica | Jamaica Free Public fine-free | 1.8 | 18 | — under 1,000 residents |
| Wardsboro | Wardsboro Free Public | — | — | — under 1,000 residents |
| Newfane | Moore Free Library fine-free | — | 22 | A+ |
| Stratton | None of its own | — | — | — under 1,000 residents |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Wardsboro Free Public didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- System-wide. Wardsboro Free Public serves 1,153 people in and around Wardsboro, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Wardsboro.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Wardsboro
Does Wardsboro have a public library?
Yes. Wardsboro Free Public, 170 Main St., serves 1,153 people in and around Wardsboro (the survey’s count).
How busy is Wardsboro’s library?
It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Wardsboro’s civic life grade?
Wardsboro isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Wardsboro.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.