Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Irasburg

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Irasburg - 9-13-25Photo: Ascended Dreamer · CC BY 4.0
Leach Public

Leach Public serves Irasburg’s 1,315 residents

Leach Public serves Irasburg’s 1,315 residents.

130 Park Ave., Irasburg 05849
DCivic lifeAhead of 14% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Civic life grade

What’s behind Irasburg’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Irasburg is ahead of 14% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Irasburg is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Irasburg’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 14%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $74K–$123K (7,295)Ahead of 13%

The survey’s stand-in for Irasburg’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($74K–$123K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Irasburg is small (1,199 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

3 community nonprofits are registered in Irasburg

2.0 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.07 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.07 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans10.94 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services00.14 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.14 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.07 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.29 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (0 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.3%

6.3% of Irasburg’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.5% in the typical Vermont town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Irasburg’s residents live; 2022.

A year at the library

A year at Leach Public

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Leach Public, 130 Park Ave., Irasburg.

With a card

Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Irasburg? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Irasburg resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,315 people it serves ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
AlbanyAlbany Town fine-free1.114— under 1,000 residents
IrasburgLeach Public——D
BartonBarton Public fine-free—25B−
LowellLowell Community——— graded with its twin city
CoventryNone of its own——C−

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Leach Public didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Irasburg

Does Irasburg have a public library?

Yes. Leach Public, 130 Park Ave., serves Irasburg’s 1,315 residents (the survey’s count).

How busy is Irasburg’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Irasburg’s civic life grade?

D Irasburg is ahead of 14% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Irasburg.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.