Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bradford

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Bradford VT 1-24-2026Photo: Ascended Dreamer · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Bradford · Not graded

Crime reported in Bradford, VT

Bradford’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
18 mi
Norwich (A+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 2 property crimes reported

And fewer than 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (2.1)Violent crime (0.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Bradford0.4
Rest of VT2.7
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Bradford2.1
Rest of VT24.1
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Bradford’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Vermont. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearBradfordRest of VermontBradfordRest of Vermont
20224.326.70.43.0
20232.528.00.02.7
20242.124.10.42.7
2025not reported22.2not reported2.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

7 crimes reported in 2024

1 violent and 6 property, as reported to the FBI by Bradford’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft5
Burglary0
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
6
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Vermont towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
NorwichA+18 mi0.21.6
BarreD22 mi5.532.8
RoyaltonB+24 mi1.07.4
BerlinD−26 mi7.3103.9
HartfordC+27 mi2.612.6
MontpelierC−27 mi2.923.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Bradford. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Bradford.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Bradford’s roads in 2019–2023

Bradford had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Vermont towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.5 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Bradford’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Bradford’s own rate (7.1) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
7.1
per 100,000 a year · Vermont towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.5

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Bradford and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Newbury———
Fairlee———
Corinth———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Newbury and Corinth have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025. Fairlee reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Bradford. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Bradford’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,850 in 2024); our figure for Bradford is 2,834 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Bradford

Is Bradford, VT safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Bradford. Bradford’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Vermont towns with a grade are Norwich (A+, 18 mi), Barre (D, 22 mi), Royalton (B+, 24 mi).

Who polices Bradford?

Bradford’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Bradford”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Bradford.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Bradford feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.