Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Mount Pleasant

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Morten Rasmussen HouseMorten Rasmussen House · Photo: Ntsimp · CC0
Safety in Mount Pleasant · Not graded

Crime reported in Mount Pleasant, UT

Mount Pleasant’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
10
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
16
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
14 mi
Ephraim (A−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (4.1)Violent crime (2.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Mount Pleasant2.5
Rest of UT2.6
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Mount Pleasant4.1
Rest of UT15.9
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Mount Pleasant’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Utah. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearMount PleasantRest of UtahMount PleasantRest of Utah
20225.520.71.32.7
20236.218.21.52.5
20244.115.92.52.6
2025not reported14.2not reported2.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

26 crimes reported in 2024

10 violent and 16 property, as reported to the FBI by Mount Pleasant’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft10
Burglary3
Vehicle theft3
Aggravated assault8
Robbery1
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
10
violent crimes
16
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Utah towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
EphraimA−14 mi0.75.3
NephiB+23 mi1.16.4
HelperC+33 mi3.011.6
PriceC35 mi2.916.7
PaysonB+37 mi1.26.3
WellingtonB38 mi2.07.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Mount Pleasant. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Mount Pleasant.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Mount Pleasant’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Utah towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Mount Pleasant’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Mount Pleasant’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Utah towns of 2,500–5,000: 0.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Mount Pleasant and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Mount Pleasant
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Mount Pleasant. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Mount Pleasant’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (3,942 in 2024); our figure for Mount Pleasant is 4,018 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Mount Pleasant

Is Mount Pleasant, UT safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Mount Pleasant. Mount Pleasant’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Utah towns with a grade are Ephraim (A−, 14 mi), Nephi (B+, 23 mi), Helper (C+, 33 mi).

Who polices Mount Pleasant?

Mount Pleasant’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Mount Pleasant”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Mount Pleasant.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Mount Pleasant feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.