Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Odem

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Odem Public Library

Odem Public Library serves Odem’s 2,255 residents

Odem Public Library serves Odem’s 2,255 residents.

516 Voss Ave, Odem 78370
DCivic lifeAhead of 10% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024

What stands out about Odem’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Odem’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Odem is ahead of 10% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Odem is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Odem’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Odem’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 10%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $52K–$87K (8,976)Ahead of 10%

The survey’s stand-in for Odem’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($52K–$87K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Odem is small (2,291 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

6 community nonprofits are registered in Odem

2.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: education.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.48 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans10.48 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services00.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education10.67 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.67 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (2 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

4.6%

4.6% of Odem’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.7% in the typical Texas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Odem’s residents live; 2022.

A year at the library

A year at Odem Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Odem Public Library, 516 Voss Ave, Odem.

5,128
square feet
With a card

No late fees.

New in Odem? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Odem resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 2,255 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Odem Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Odem

Does Odem have a public library?

Yes. Odem Public Library, 516 Voss Ave, serves Odem’s 2,255 residents (the survey’s count).

Is Odem Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Odem’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Odem’s civic life grade?

D Odem is ahead of 10% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Odem.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.