Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Morton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Morton Texas City HallPhoto: Leaflet · CC BY-SA 3.0
Cochran County Love Memorial Library

Morton’s library lends 0.6 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8 for libraries its size

Cochran County Love Memorial Library serves 2,509 people in and around Morton. Last year it lent 1,490 books, movies and e-books and drew 62 people to its programs.

318 S Main St., Morton 79346 · about 35 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 11% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
1,490
0.6 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
21
about 1 a week · 62 attended
Cardholders
66%
1,663 cards
Open
35 hrs
a week at this branch

What stands out about Cochran County Love Memorial Library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Morton’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Morton is ahead of 11% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Morton is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Morton’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Morton’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 11%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $29K–$48K (1,630)Ahead of 21%

The survey’s stand-in for Morton’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($29K–$48K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Morton is small (1,689 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

5 community nonprofits are registered in Morton

3.3 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans10.66 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services21.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.66 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.66 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (7 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

2.5%

2.5% of Morton’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.7% in the typical Texas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Morton’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 0.6 print items · typical 3.8Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.3 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 89%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.5Bottom 10%
Programs offered 8.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Lower than 87%
Cardholders 66% of residents · typical 42%Higher than 77%
Spending $38 per resident · typical $43Lower than 57%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Cochran County Love Memorial Library serves 2,509 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

A year at Cochran County Love Memorial Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Cochran County Love Memorial Library system. The library’s own count.

1,490
loans, print + digital
0.6 per resident
21
programs & events
62 attended
1,663
library cards
66% of people served
Every open hour1items borrowed
Every week1people at a program
1 staff (full-time equivalent)7 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

1,490 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

1,490loans
Books & media (adults) 46%Kids’ books & media 52%E-books, audio & streaming 2%
From your couch

29 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

21 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Morton →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–58
Ages 6–118
Teens5
Adults0
All ages0
Little ones
0.2

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

773
kids’ books & media borrowed
62
people at programs
21
programs
The building

Find it

Cochran County Love Memorial Library, 318 S Main St., Morton.

35
hours open a week
3,342
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Cochran County Love Memorial Library branch.

New in Morton? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Morton cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$38 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $95K.

Local taxes 100%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $22K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $95K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,663 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Cochran County Love Memorial Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • System-wide. Cochran County Love Memorial Library serves 2,509 people in and around Morton, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Morton.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Morton

Does Morton have a public library?

Yes. Cochran County Love Memorial Library, 318 S Main St., serves 2,509 people in and around Morton (the survey’s count) and is open about 35 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Cochran County Love Memorial Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Morton’s library?

It lent 0.6 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 21 programs that drew 62 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Morton’s civic life grade?

D Morton is ahead of 11% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Morton.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.