Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Lone Star

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Lone Star · Not graded

Crime recorded in Lone Star, and why it isn’t graded

Daingerfield, 6 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (D). Lone Star’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Widen the search to 25 miles and 5 graded towns turn up.

Violent crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
16
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
6 mi
Daingerfield (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 11 property crimes reported

Property crime (11.4)Violent crime (4.3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Lone Star4.3
Rest of TX3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Lone Star11.4
Rest of TX20.6
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 4 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Lone Star’s police reported

Show as a table
YearLone StarRest of TexasLone StarRest of Texas
20226.427.33.55.1
20236.426.32.14.7
2024not reported23.9not reported4.4
202511.420.64.33.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

22 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft8
Burglary6
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault4
Robbery1
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
6
violent crimes
16
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

6 violent and 16 property, as reported to the FBI by Lone Star’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
DaingerfieldD6 mi5.623.1
PittsburgC15 mi4.48.7
GilmerC−20 mi3.422.6
Mount PleasantC22 mi3.318.2
JeffersonC+24 mi2.515.7
LongviewC−29 mi3.723.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Lone Star. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Lone Star.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Lone Star’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Texas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Lone Star’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Lone Star’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Lone Star and its neighbors

Lone Star
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Lone Star. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Lone Star’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,409 in 2025); our figure for Lone Star is 1,391 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Lone Star

Is Lone Star, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Lone Star. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Daingerfield (D, 6 mi), Pittsburg (C, 15 mi), Gilmer (C−, 20 mi).

Who polices Lone Star?

Lone Star’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Lone Star”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Lone Star feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Lone Star.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.