Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Itasca

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Itasca, TexasPhoto: Renelibrary · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Itasca · Not graded

Crime reported in Itasca, TX

Itasca’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Hillsboro (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (3)Violent crime (0.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Itasca0.5
Rest of TX3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Itasca3.0
Rest of TX20.6
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Itasca’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearItascaRest of TexasItascaRest of Texas
20220.027.31.85.1
20232.726.30.04.7
2024not reported23.9not reported4.4
20253.020.60.53.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

7 crimes reported in 2025

1 violent and 6 property, as reported to the FBI by Itasca’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft5
Burglary0
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
6
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
HillsboroC11 mi2.119.0
VenusA−17 mi1.54.0
WhitneyC+17 mi2.212.7
AlvaradoC+18 mi3.210.7
KeeneB+19 mi1.45.9
CleburneB−21 mi2.310.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Itasca. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Itasca.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Itasca’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Texas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Itasca’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Itasca’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Itasca and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Itasca
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Itasca. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Itasca’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,972 in 2025); our figure for Itasca is 1,970 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Itasca

Is Itasca, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Itasca. Itasca’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Hillsboro (C, 11 mi), Venus (A−, 17 mi), Whitney (C+, 17 mi).

Who polices Itasca?

Itasca’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Itasca”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Itasca.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Itasca feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.