Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Freer

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Freer · Not graded

Crime reported in Freer, TX

Freer’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
24
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
35 mi
Alice (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 10 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (10.2)Violent crime (1.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Freer1.7
Rest of TX4.7
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Freer10.2
Rest of TX26.3
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Freer’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearFreerRest of TexasFreerRest of Texas
20224.127.32.95.1
202310.226.31.74.7
2024not reported23.9not reported4.4
2025not reported20.6not reported3.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

28 crimes reported in 2023

4 violent and 24 property, as reported to the FBI by Freer’s police.

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft13
Burglary9
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault2
Robbery1
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
24
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
AliceD35 mi5.626.9
George WestC+43 mi2.412.2
PremontC47 mi5.15.7
Three RiversA48 mi0.81.4
MathisC51 mi3.714.7
KingsvilleC53 mi2.517.4

Straight-line distance from the center of Freer. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Freer.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Freer’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Texas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Freer’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Freer’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Freer and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Freer
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Freer. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Freer’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,360 in 2023); our figure for Freer is 2,308 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Freer

Is Freer, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Freer. Freer’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Alice (D, 35 mi), George West (C+, 43 mi), Premont (C, 47 mi).

Who polices Freer?

Freer’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Freer”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Freer.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Freer feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.