Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Cross Roads

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Cross Roads · Not graded

Crime reported in Cross Roads, TX

Cross Roads’ police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
60
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Little Elm (B+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 30 property crimes reported

And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (29.5)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Cross Roads0.0
Rest of TX3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Cross Roads29.5
Rest of TX20.6
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Cross Roads’ police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearCross RoadsRest of TexasCross RoadsRest of Texas
2022not reported27.3not reported5.1
2023not reported26.3not reported4.7
202425.523.90.54.4
202529.520.60.03.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

60 crimes reported in 2025

0 violent and 60 property, as reported to the FBI by Cross Roads’ police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft54
Burglary2
Vehicle theft4
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
60
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Little ElmB+5 mi1.64.2
AubreyC6 mi3.115.4
Lake DallasB+7 mi1.25.7
CorinthA−7 mi0.77.2
Hickory CreekB+8 mi1.08.4
DentonC8 mi2.218.8

Straight-line distance from the center of Cross Roads. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Cross Roads.

On the roads

Four people died in crashes on Cross Roads’s roads in 2019–2023

Cross Roads had 4 fatal crashes in five years, in which four people died; 1 was a pedestrian and 1 was a cyclist.

That is more than is typical for Texas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Cross Roads’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Cross Roads’s own rate (39.3) is context, not a ranking.

4
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
1
cyclist among them
39.3
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Cross Roads and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Providence Village: not gradedProvidence VillageCross Roads
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Providence Village———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Providence Village has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Cross Roads. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Cross Roads’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,035 in 2025); our figure for Cross Roads is 1,965 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Cross Roads

Is Cross Roads, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Cross Roads. Cross Roads’ police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Little Elm (B+, 5 mi), Aubrey (C, 6 mi), Lake Dallas (B+, 7 mi).

Who polices Cross Roads?

Cross Roads’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Cross Roads”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Cross Roads.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Cross Roads feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.