Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Clarksville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Clarksville June 2018 19 (Broadway Street)Photo: Michael Barera · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Clarksville · Not graded

What is recorded in Clarksville, and why there is no grade

Clarksville’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Paris, 28 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (D).

Violent crimes
5
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
15
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
28 mi
Paris (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported

Property crime (5.2)Violent crime (1.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Clarksville1.7
Rest of TX3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Clarksville5.2
Rest of TX20.6
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Clarksville’s police reported

Show as a table
YearClarksvilleRest of TexasClarksvilleRest of Texas
2022not reported27.3not reported5.1
2023not reported26.3not reported4.7
20241.423.90.34.4
20255.220.61.73.8

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Texas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

20 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft8
Burglary5
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault4
Robbery1
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
5
violent crimes
15
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

5 violent and 15 property, as reported to the FBI by Clarksville’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Texas towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ParisD28 mi5.524.2
Mount VernonB31 mi2.15.5
Mount PleasantC32 mi3.318.2
New BostonD38 mi5.632.8
PittsburgC43 mi4.48.7
DaingerfieldD44 mi5.623.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Clarksville. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Clarksville.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Clarksville’s roads in 2019–2023

Clarksville had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Texas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Clarksville’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Clarksville’s own rate (7.0) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
7.0
per 100,000 a year · Texas towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Clarksville and its neighbors

Clarksville
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Clarksville. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Clarksville’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,876 in 2025); our figure for Clarksville is 2,908 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Clarksville

Is Clarksville, TX safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Clarksville. The nearest Texas towns with a grade are Paris (D, 28 mi), Mount Vernon (B, 31 mi), Mount Pleasant (C, 32 mi).

Who polices Clarksville?

Clarksville’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Clarksville”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Clarksville feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Clarksville.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.