Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Cisco

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Downtown Cisco TexasPhoto: Renegomezphotography · CC BY-SA 4.0
Cisco Public Library

Cisco Public Library serves Cisco’s 6,527 residents

Cisco Public Library serves Cisco’s 6,527 residents.

600 Ave G, Cisco 76437
ACivic lifeAhead of 90% of U.S. towns · #16 of 539 in Texas. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024

What stands out about Cisco’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Cisco’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Cisco is ahead of 90% of U.S. towns, #16 of 539 in Texas. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Cisco is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups ranks highest.

A
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Cisco’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 90%
FewerMore
Texas towns we grade (539)Ahead of 97%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $44K–$73K (7,319)Ahead of 88%

The survey’s stand-in for Cisco’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Cisco is small (3,980 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

17 community nonprofits are registered in Cisco

4.3 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation61.52 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans41.01 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services20.51 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education10.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (4 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 1 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

22.7%

22.7% of Cisco’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 5.7% in the typical Texas town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Cisco’s residents live; 2022.

A year at the library

A year at Cisco Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits and print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Cisco Public Library, 600 Ave G, Cisco.

2,304
square feet
With a card

No late fees.

New in Cisco? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Cisco resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 6,527 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Cisco Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Cisco

Does Cisco have a public library?

Yes. Cisco Public Library, 600 Ave G, serves Cisco’s 6,527 residents (the survey’s count).

Is Cisco Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Cisco’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Cisco’s civic life grade?

A Cisco is ahead of 90% of U.S. towns on civic life, #16 of 539 in Texas. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Cisco.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.