Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dyer

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Dyer-Front-St-tnPhoto: Brian Stansberry · CC BY 4.0
Safety in Dyer · Not graded

Dyer: recorded crime, not graded

Greenfield, 12 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (B−). A 25-mile circle around it holds 9 towns with a grade. Dyer’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
18
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
12 mi
Greenfield (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 8 property crimes reported

Property crime (7.7)Violent crime (1.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Dyer1.7
Rest of TN6.9
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Dyer7.7
Rest of TN24.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Dyer’s police reported

Show as a table
YearDyerRest of TennesseeDyerRest of Tennessee
202210.433.61.79.1
2023not reported35.4not reported9.1
20247.730.64.38.5
20257.724.31.76.9

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Tennessee. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

22 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft7
Burglary10
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
18
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

4 violent and 18 property, as reported to the FBI by Dyer’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Tennessee towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
GreenfieldB−12 mi3.15.9
NewbernC16 mi3.512.9
MilanC−17 mi5.319.9
HumboldtC−18 mi4.714.1
MartinC+20 mi2.814.3
MedinaB+21 mi1.92.5

Straight-line distance from the center of Dyer. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Dyer.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Dyer’s roads in 2019–2023

Dyer had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Dyer’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Dyer’s own rate (9.0) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
9.0
per 100,000 a year · Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000: 12.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Dyer and its neighbors

Dyer
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Dyer. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Dyer’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,334 in 2025); our figure for Dyer is 2,333 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Dyer

Is Dyer, TN safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Dyer. The nearest Tennessee towns with a grade are Greenfield (B−, 12 mi), Newbern (C, 16 mi), Milan (C−, 17 mi).

Who polices Dyer?

Dyer’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Dyer”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Dyer feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Dyer.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.