Richland · Photo: Brian Stansberry · CC BY 3.0What the figures say about crime in Blaine, TN
The closest graded town is Maynardville, 9 miles away, at C−. Widen the search to 25 miles and 10 graded towns turn up. Blaine’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 8 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Blaine’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Blaine | Rest of Tennessee | Blaine | Rest of Tennessee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 10.0 | 33.6 | 2.9 | 9.1 |
| 2023 | 8.4 | 35.4 | 0.9 | 9.1 |
| 2024 | 8.3 | 30.6 | 0.9 | 8.5 |
| 2025 | not reported | 24.3 | not reported | 6.9 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Tennessee. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
20 crimes reported in 2024
2024 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
2 violent and 18 property, as reported to the FBI by Blaine’s police.
The nearest Tennessee towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maynardville | C− | 9 mi | 3.2 | 21.6 |
| Jefferson City | C | 12 mi | 2.5 | 19.4 |
| Dandridge | C+ | 17 mi | 2.3 | 12.3 |
| Knoxville | D | 19 mi | 7.5 | 27.3 |
| Sevierville | D | 19 mi | 4.4 | 33.1 |
| New Tazewell | B− | 21 mi | 1.4 | 13.0 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Blaine. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Blaine.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Two people died in crashes on Blaine’s roads in 2019–2023
Blaine had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died; 1 was a cyclist.
That is about what is typical for Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Blaine’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Blaine’s own rate (12.4) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Blaine and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Blaine. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Blaine’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,158 in 2024); our figure for Blaine is 2,212 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Blaine
Is Blaine, TN safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Blaine. The nearest Tennessee towns with a grade are Maynardville (C−, 9 mi), Jefferson City (C, 12 mi), Dandridge (C+, 17 mi).
Who polices Blaine?
Blaine’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Blaine”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Blaine.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.