Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Brandon

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Brandon · Not graded

Crime reported in Brandon, SD

Brandon’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
5
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
36
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Sioux Falls (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (3.3)Violent crime (0.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Brandon0.5
Rest of SD3.7
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Brandon3.3
Rest of SD19.5
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Brandon’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of South Dakota. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearBrandonRest of South DakotaBrandonRest of South Dakota
20226.126.00.54.7
2023not reported23.2not reported4.2
20243.723.20.74.3
20253.319.50.53.7

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

41 crimes reported in 2025

5 violent and 36 property, as reported to the FBI by Brandon’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft29
Burglary5
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault5
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
5
violent crimes
36
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest South Dakota towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Sioux FallsD8 mi4.425.1
TeaB15 mi1.410.3
CantonB−20 mi2.210.5
LennoxA−23 mi1.52.6
FlandreauB−31 mi2.19.8
BeresfordB−37 mi1.810.4

Straight-line distance from the center of Brandon. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Brandon.

On the roads

Three people died in crashes on Brandon’s roads in 2019–2023

Brandon had 3 fatal crashes in five years, in which three people died. Most of these deaths (2 of 3) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.

That is about what is typical for South Dakota towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (3.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Brandon’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Brandon’s own rate (5.5) is context, not a ranking.

3
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
5.5
per 100,000 a year · South Dakota towns of 5,000–25,000: 3.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Brandon and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Brandon Township: not gradedSplit Rock Township: not gradedBrandon TownshipSplit Rock TownshipBrandon
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Split Rock Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Split Rock Township has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Brandon. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Brandon’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (10,786 in 2025); our figure for Brandon is 11,306 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Brandon

Is Brandon, SD safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Brandon. Brandon’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest South Dakota towns with a grade are Sioux Falls (D, 8 mi), Tea (B, 15 mi), Canton (B−, 20 mi).

Who polices Brandon?

Brandon’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Brandon”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Brandon.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Brandon feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.