Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to St. Stephen

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
St. Stephen SCPhoto: Evanoco · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in St. Stephen · Not graded

Crime reported in St. Stephen, SC

St. Stephen has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
11
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
77
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
14 mi
Moncks Corner (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 50 property crimes reported

And about 7 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (50.2)Violent crime (7.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

St. Stephen7.2
Rest of SC5.8
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

St. Stephen50.2
Rest of SC31.1
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years St. Stephen’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of South Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearSt. StephenRest of South CarolinaSt. StephenRest of South Carolina
202250.231.17.25.8
2023not reported30.4not reported5.6
2024not reported27.7not reported5.4
2025not reported23.7not reported4.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

88 crimes reported in 2022

11 violent and 77 property, as reported to the FBI by St. Stephen’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft58
Burglary12
Vehicle theft7
Aggravated assault9
Robbery1
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
11
violent crimes
77
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest South Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Moncks CornerC14 mi3.219.2
KingstreeD−19 mi10.064.2
AndrewsD−21 mi8.640.3
ManningD−26 mi11.071.5
Goose CreekC+29 mi2.614.0
Holly HillD−29 mi9.449.5

Straight-line distance from the center of St. Stephen. Nearby towns can differ a lot from St. Stephen.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on St. Stephen’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for South Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of St. Stephen’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so St. Stephen’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · South Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

St. Stephen and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Russellville: not gradedRussellvilleSt. Stephen
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of St. Stephen. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against St. Stephen’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,533 in 2022); our figure for St. Stephen is 1,623 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in St. Stephen

Is St. Stephen, SC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for St. Stephen. St. Stephen has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest South Carolina towns with a grade are Moncks Corner (C, 14 mi), Kingstree (D−, 19 mi), Andrews (D−, 21 mi).

Who polices St. Stephen?

St. Stephen’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “St. Stephen”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in St. Stephen.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does St. Stephen feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.