Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to St. George

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Lourie TheaterPhoto: Pompusmaximus Brad West · Public domain
Safety in St. George · Not graded

Crime recorded in St. George, and why it isn’t graded

Out to 25 miles, the count of graded towns reaches 2. St. George’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest town with a Safety Grade is Holly Hill, 14 miles away, graded D−.

Violent crimes
16
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
86
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
14 mi
Holly Hill (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 47 property crimes reported

Property crime (46.9)Violent crime (8.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

St. George8.7
Rest of SC5.4
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

St. George46.9
Rest of SC27.7
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 9 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years St. George’s police reported

Show as a table
YearSt. GeorgeRest of South CarolinaSt. GeorgeRest of South Carolina
202242.831.16.85.8
2023not reported30.4not reported5.6
202446.927.78.75.4
2025not reported23.7not reported4.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of South Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

102 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft64
Burglary9
Vehicle theft13
Aggravated assault10
Robbery5
Rape0
Homicide1
Arson0
16
violent crimes
86
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

16 violent and 86 property, as reported to the FBI by St. George’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest South Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Holly HillD−14 mi9.449.5
WalterboroD−20 mi12.058.2
OrangeburgD−27 mi13.256.2
BambergD−27 mi13.352.1
DenmarkD33 mi7.027.3
Moncks CornerC34 mi3.219.2

Straight-line distance from the center of St. George. Nearby towns can differ a lot from St. George.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Three people died in crashes on St. George’s roads in 2019–2023

St. George had 3 fatal crashes in five years, in which three people died; 1 was a pedestrian. 1 died in crash on an Interstate.

That is about what is typical for South Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of St. George’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so St. George’s own rate (27.9) is context, not a ranking.

3
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
27.9
per 100,000 a year · South Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

St. George and its neighbors

St. George
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of St. George. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against St. George’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,833 in 2024); our figure for St. George is 1,868 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in St. George

Is St. George, SC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for St. George. The nearest South Carolina towns with a grade are Holly Hill (D−, 14 mi), Walterboro (D−, 20 mi), Orangeburg (D−, 27 mi).

Who polices St. George?

St. George’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “St. George”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does St. George feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in St. George.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.