Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Chester

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Cornwell InnCornwell Inn · Photo: Bill Fitzpatrick · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Chester · Not graded

Crime reported in Chester, SC

Chester’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
81
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
171
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
19 mi
Rock Hill (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 33 property crimes reported

And about 16 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (32.8)Violent crime (15.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Chester15.5
Rest of SC5.4
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Chester32.8
Rest of SC27.7
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Chester’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of South Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearChesterRest of South CarolinaChesterRest of South Carolina
202229.531.125.75.7
2023not reported30.4not reported5.6
202432.827.715.55.4
2025not reported23.7not reported4.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

252 crimes reported in 2024

81 violent and 171 property, as reported to the FBI by Chester’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft124
Burglary30
Vehicle theft17
Aggravated assault67
Robbery4
Rape6
Homicide4
Arson0
81
violent crimes
171
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest South Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Rock HillC−19 mi4.524.0
YorkD20 mi5.931.1
UnionD−24 mi10.669.3
LancasterD−24 mi10.053.7
Tega CayA−26 mi0.46.0
Fort MillA−26 mi0.55.8

Straight-line distance from the center of Chester. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Chester.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Chester’s roads in 2019–2023

Chester had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for South Carolina towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (8.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Chester’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Chester’s own rate (7.7) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
7.7
per 100,000 a year · South Carolina towns of 5,000–25,000: 8.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Chester and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Eureka Mill———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Eureka Mill is an unincorporated community (a census-designated place) with no police department of its own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Chester. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Chester’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,212 in 2024); our figure for Chester is 5,324 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Chester

Is Chester, SC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Chester. Chester’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest South Carolina towns with a grade are Rock Hill (C−, 19 mi), York (D, 20 mi), Union (D−, 24 mi).

Who polices Chester?

Chester’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Chester”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Chester.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Chester feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.