Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Youngsville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Youngsville Public Library

Youngsville Public Library serves 4,738 people in and around Youngsville

Youngsville Public Library serves 4,738 people in and around Youngsville.

100 Broad Street, Youngsville 16371 · about 26 hours a week
B+Civic lifeAhead of 66% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Open
26 hrs
a week at this branch
Civic life grade

What’s behind Youngsville’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Youngsville is ahead of 66% of U.S. towns. Youngsville is graded on two of the three inputs. Youngsville’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Youngsville’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 66%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $44K–$73K (7,377)Ahead of 63%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Youngsville is small (1,639 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

13 community nonprofits are registered in Youngsville

7.2 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.55 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans52.77 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services21.11 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education21.11 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.55 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other21.11 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (5 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 1 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

6.5%

6.5% of Youngsville’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.0% in the typical Pennsylvania town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Youngsville’s residents live; 2022.

A year at the library

A year at Youngsville Public Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Youngsville Public Library system. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Youngsville Public Library, 100 Broad Street, Youngsville.

26
hours open a week
3,303
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Youngsville Public Library branch.

New in Youngsville? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Youngsville resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 4,738 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Youngsville Public Library serves 4,738 people in and around Youngsville, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Youngsville.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Youngsville

Does Youngsville have a public library?

Yes. Youngsville Public Library, 100 Broad Street, serves 4,738 people in and around Youngsville (the survey’s count) and is open about 26 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Youngsville Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Youngsville’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Youngsville’s civic life grade?

B+ Youngsville is ahead of 66% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Youngsville.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.