Photo: Mr. Matté (if there is an issue with this image, contact me using this image's Commons talk page, my Commons user talk page, or my English Wikipedia user talk page; I'll know about it a lot faster) · CC BY-SA 4.0Caernarvon Township goes ungraded: its recorded crime
The surrounding 10 miles hold 6 graded places to compare with. Caernarvon Township’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Robeson Township, 5 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (A).
For every 1,000 residents, about 15 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Caernarvon Township’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Caernarvon Township | Rest of Pennsylvania | Caernarvon Township | Rest of Pennsylvania |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | not reported | 30.2 | not reported | 6.9 |
| 2023 | 12.5 | 19.1 | 0.9 | 3.2 |
| 2024 | not reported | 17.4 | not reported | 2.9 |
| 2025 | 15.1 | 16.1 | 2.4 | 2.6 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Pennsylvania. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
81 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
11 violent and 70 property, as reported to the FBI by Caernarvon Township’s police.
The nearest Pennsylvania towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robeson Township | A | 5 mi | 0.4 | 3.5 |
| Brecknock Township | A+ | 6 mi | 0.1 | 1.3 |
| Birdsboro | A | 8 mi | 0.5 | 4.9 |
| East Earl Township | A− | 8 mi | 0.3 | 6.2 |
| West Brandywine Township | A | 9 mi | 0.7 | 3.1 |
| West Caln Township | A | 10 mi | 0.7 | 3.9 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Caernarvon Township. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Caernarvon Township.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Three people died in crashes on Caernarvon Township’s roads in 2019–2023
Caernarvon Township had 3 fatal crashes in five years, in which three people died; 1 was a pedestrian. Most of these deaths (2 of 3) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.
That is about what is typical for Pennsylvania towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Caernarvon Township’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Caernarvon Township’s own rate (13.8) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Caernarvon Township and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Robeson Township | A | 0.4 | 3.5 |
| Honey Brook Township | — | — | — |
| Caernarvon Township (township) | — | — | — |
| Brecknock Township | A+ | 0.1 | 1.3 |
| West Nantmeal Township | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Honey Brook Township, Caernarvon Township (township) and West Nantmeal Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Caernarvon Township. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Caernarvon Township’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (4,651 in 2025); our figure for Caernarvon Township is 4,561 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Caernarvon Township
Is Caernarvon Township, PA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Caernarvon Township. The nearest Pennsylvania towns with a grade are Robeson Township (A, 5 mi), Brecknock Township (A+, 6 mi), Birdsboro (A, 8 mi).
Who polices Caernarvon Township?
Caernarvon Township’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Caernarvon Township, Berks County”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Caernarvon Township.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.