Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Vale

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Vale, OregonPhoto: Jo Levine · CC BY 2.0
Emma Humphrey Library

Emma Humphrey Library serves Vale’s 1,947 residents

Emma Humphrey Library serves Vale’s 1,947 residents.

150 A St. E, Vale 97918
BCivic lifeAhead of 60% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Civic life grade

What’s behind Vale’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Vale is ahead of 60% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Vale is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; Vale’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

B
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Vale’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 60%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $38K–$63K (5,060)Ahead of 58%

The survey’s stand-in for Vale’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2021 figure, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Vale is small (2,055 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

10 community nonprofits are registered in Vale

4.1 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.55 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.55 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans20.89 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services20.72 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education20.72 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.17 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.55 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

8.0%

8.0% of Vale’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.9% in the typical Oregon town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Vale’s residents live; 2022.

A year at the library

A year at Emma Humphrey Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Emma Humphrey Library, 150 A St. E, Vale.

1,925
square feet
With a card

Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Vale? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Vale resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 1,947 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Emma Humphrey Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2021 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Vale

Does Vale have a public library?

Yes. Emma Humphrey Library, 150 A St. E, serves Vale’s 1,947 residents (the survey’s count).

Is Emma Humphrey Library fine-free?

It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Vale’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Vale’s civic life grade?

B Vale is ahead of 60% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Vale.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.