Photo: Visitor7 · CC BY-SA 3.0Lakeside’s library lends 6.9 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8 for libraries its size
Lakeside Public Library serves Lakeside’s 2,504 residents. Last year it lent 17K print books and media and logged 14K visits.
Lakeside’s library, in brief
Programs are almost all for children
82% of the 132 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including 48 for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓
A place to get online
Lakeside Public Library logs about 75 Wi-Fi sessions a day and has 6 public computers. That’s 11 sessions per resident a year. A year at the library ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
What’s behind Lakeside’s civic life grade
On community nonprofits and volunteering, Lakeside is ahead of 63% of U.S. towns. Lakeside is graded on two of the three inputs. Lakeside’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
11 community nonprofits are registered in Lakeside
5.9 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.
Community nonprofits, by kind
Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (1 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.
6.7%
6.7% of Lakeside’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.9% in the typical Oregon town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Lakeside’s residents live; 2022.
Books and media off the shelf
17K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.
Each of the 20K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.9 time last year, on average.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.
Lakeside Public Library serves 2,504 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.
Every hour the doors are open, about 11 items go out
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
About 2 kids’ programs a week
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Lakeside last year.
Find it
Lakeside Public Library, 915 N Lake Rd, Lakeside.















No late fees. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.
New in Lakeside? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $3.30 worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Lakeside resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $115K.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $380K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $115K budget.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 2,504 people it serves ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Lakeside
Does Lakeside have a public library?
Yes. Lakeside Public Library, 915 N Lake Rd, serves Lakeside’s 2,504 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 29 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Lakeside Public Library fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Lakeside’s library?
It logged 5.6 visits and lent 6.9 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.
What is Lakeside’s civic life grade?
B Lakeside is ahead of 63% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Lakeside.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.